Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues  (Read 5766 times)

HF

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« on: February 05, 2012, 03:59:59 AM »

Hi,

I just got my Airsight camera, and it works great when wired to the network, but I can't seem to get it to connect to either of my wireless routers so I can run it wirelessly, which is pretty important to me.  I have carefully followed the instructions, and have tried this with two different brand and model wireless routers, both of which currently have several devices working on them, so the fault lies not in the routers.  I am also not a novice at Wi-Fi configuration, and have a solid background in wifi setup and security, so I am pretty sure this isn't user error either.

Has anyone had any luck using the wireless connectivity option.  If so, what kind of security.  I am using a router utilizing WPA2  with a 64 character password, and another less secure WPA router with a more managable password for devices that don't allow copy and paste, ie: Nook Tablets, and Kindles.

Thanks for any feedback regarding this.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10095
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 10:20:05 AM »

I'm not sure if this is simlar to a Foscam.
However it uses a different IP for wifi verses ethernet.
It took me a while to figure that out! rofl
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2012, 05:31:58 PM »

I'm not sure if this is simlar to a Foscam.
However it uses a different IP for wifi verses ethernet.
It took me a while to figure that out! rofl
I have found that with other devices (like my laptops), too.
This is especially true when using DHCP on your local network.
The wireless and wired interfaces have different MAC addresses, so the DHCP server will assign them different IP addresses.
Logged

lodtrack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 103
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 07:23:57 AM »

I am using WEP with 64 bit password. Had a little trouble at first as it would not show up in the DHCP client table in the router. So I checked box for Obtain IP from DHCP server under basic settings. I then set up a dhcp reservation in the router for that address and it showed up in the client table. I am using a Linksys router.
Logged

sleepydo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 07:32:46 PM »

i'm having the same issue. i'm not familiar with DHCP and etc. could somebody give me basic instruction how to fix this?
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 07:34:33 PM by sleepydo »
Logged

X10 Repair Depot

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 311
  • I am here to help
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2012, 07:05:44 AM »

i'm having the same issue. i'm not familiar with DHCP and etc. could somebody give me basic instruction how to fix this?


To set up the camera through wifi, you should follow these steps: 
Connect your camera to your router with a LAN cable
Open the IP camera tool and select your camera
Enter your admin password and preferably select Active X mode while using Internet Explorer
Select Network then wireless LAN settings
Press the scan button (you may need to press it twice)
Select your router from the list
Enter your key if you are using WEP or WPA encryption
Press submit.

The camera will reboot and you should be able to use the camera through wifi. Remove the LAN cable while the camera is rebooting.

Please try these instructions and let me know if you are still having trouble.
Logged

sleepydo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2012, 08:16:19 AM »

i try those instructions several times but no luck.

now i 'm having more trouble. i might have change something last night i can't even get wired connection back on. after clicking on ip camera tool the software can not find my camera/server.
Logged

darkstarz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 79
  • USMC - Semper Fi - Once a Marine, Always a Marine
    • Darkstarz World
Re: Indoor Airsight Wi-Fi Issues
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2012, 06:45:54 PM »

  I agree with the last reply, I have 4 of the Airsight's working on WiFi right now, only one gave me a hard time on setting up wifi. It happened to be the same camera as 2 others I had just set up, the outdoor ones, so it was meerley an issue of getting it right on my end. Removing the damn cable at the right time can make a big difference for some reason on some of these cam's. So as soon as you click the OK button to have it restart, remove the cable when it begins its reboot.
  But I am having an issue with the newest camera out, the x39A Airsight cam is not an e-z setup, period! Can't get it on the network, can only connect to it via laptop directly. Don't understand what the issue is here. If anyone has any clues or suggestions, I'm all ears.
Logged
Larry S.
http://www.darkstarz.com
The impossible we do immediately,
Miracles may take us a day longer.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.