Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles  (Read 3595 times)

amt779

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« on: February 11, 2012, 03:43:23 PM »

I've trouble in setting up control over X10 CM15A module via libusb.
I use Ubuntu 10.04 with 2.6.32-38-generic kernel.
I've installed libusb-1.0.8 with using this manual http://paulojacob.com/wp/category/linux/
I've checked that the module is visible for OS
$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0bc7:0001 X10 Wireless Technology, Inc. ActiveHome (ACPI-compliant)
...
But when I send simple command (to turn A1 module ON) I receive error message
$ pl a1 on
Error: Can't open input file, a1.

What files do I need to configure to manage this problem?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 03:58:21 PM »

I've trouble in setting up control over X10 CM15A module via libusb.
I use Ubuntu 10.04 with 2.6.32-38-generic kernel.
I've installed libusb-1.0.8 with using this manual http://paulojacob.com/wp/category/linux/
I've checked that the module is visible for OS
$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0bc7:0001 X10 Wireless Technology, Inc. ActiveHome (ACPI-compliant)
...
But when I send simple command (to turn A1 module ON) I receive error message
$ pl a1 on
Error: Can't open input file, a1.

What files do I need to configure to manage this problem?


The CM15A is NOT a module, it's a USB interface.  It needs Active Home Pro to send the signals through the powerline to control modules.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

bbx10node

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2012, 04:17:15 PM »

Send commands to the CM15A like this. This works for Ubuntu.

$ echo "pl a1 on" | nc localhost 1099


Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12834
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2012, 04:40:56 PM »

Dan; The CM15A can be used with some custom software running through Linux.
Module or USB Interface. Just a choice of words used.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2518
    • davehouston.org
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2012, 07:17:12 PM »

Search the web using linux cm15a and you'll find a few Linux apps that work with the CM15A.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

amt779

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2012, 08:09:11 AM »

Send commands to the CM15A like this. This works for Ubuntu.
$ echo "pl a1 on" | nc localhost 1099

wow! this works great! thanx a lot ))
Is there some manual about pl & other x10 commands available ?
for example how to send "dim 20", "all lights off", "all modules off", etc... ?
Logged

amt779

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2012, 08:13:48 AM »

I've trouble in setting up control over X10 CM15A module via libusb.
I use Ubuntu 10.04 with 2.6.32-38-generic
...

The CM15A is NOT a module, it's a USB interface.  It needs Active Home Pro to send the signals through the powerline to control modules.

Yep, apologies. IT IS an interface.

Is there Active Home Pro available for linux? If is, please give the link, cuz I didn't find such.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12834
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2012, 08:20:47 AM »

AHP is strictly for Windows.
Someone with Linux experience maybe able to add what other programs can duplicate AHP functions. I doubt downloading things like timers and macros can be done.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2012, 08:33:11 AM »

This is where I really miss Charles Sullivan.  Have you joined the HEYU forum yet?  It's a Yahoo group.  There's a wealth Linux knowledge at that place, and everyone there deals with X10 on the "other" OS.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

amt779

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: CM15A + Ubuntu 10.04 troubles
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2012, 09:11:43 AM »

Send commands to the CM15A like this. This works for Ubuntu.
$ echo "pl a1 on" | nc localhost 1099

wow! this works great! thanx a lot ))
Is there some manual about pl & other x10 commands available ?
for example how to send "dim 20", "all lights off", "all modules off", etc... ?

stupid question. I found


   pl a [on|off|dim|bright|xdim|all_lights_on|all_lights_off|all_units_off]
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.