Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: x10 newbie question  (Read 2828 times)

suncitygeek

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
x10 newbie question
« on: February 13, 2012, 11:26:30 PM »

Complete newbie on X10 products. Is it possible to replace a standard wall light switch with a X10 switch so when you turn the light on, it send a signal to a x10 receptacle that turns on a motor?

Background. In my house I have a pump in the garage that pushes hot water through the pipe. So what I want to do is turn on the bathroom light and have the pump in the garage turn on too.
Thanks

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: x10 newbie question
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 06:05:20 AM »

X10s present wall switches don't send a power line signal when locally toggled.
Some of the Smarthome X10 line of switches can send a signal back on the power lines.
They need a neutral power connection not found in all switch boxes.
The X10 controlled outlet would need to be on the same X10 address for direct control or the switch could send a command to trigger a macro in Active Home Pro.

If the pump and the bathroom circuits are on opposite phases of the house. There could be a signal probelm between them. That would require some troubleshooting or added parts. Like a phase coupler or repeater.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2012, 06:37:45 AM by Brian H »

Noam

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 51
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 02:29:27 PM »

You might be able to do something similar, using a motion sensor in the bathroom.
Some (not all) of the X10 motion sensors have a "+1" code that is based on the Dusk/Dawn sensor in the unit. You could use that in the bathroom to detect the light turning on, and then trigger a macro that would turn the pump on or off based on that.
However, I still think that using a SmartHome switch (one that transmits it's code when it is turned on manually) is a better way to go.