Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: AirPad Static IP  (Read 3380 times)

Musicman_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
AirPad Static IP
« on: February 23, 2012, 04:19:34 PM »

Can Someone tell me where the setting for a Static IP is on the AirPad 7p (Ice Cream)?
I have looked everywhere, can't find it.

Thanks in advance..
Logged

diller3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 09:25:25 AM »

On my airpad 7" 910 ,android 2.3.1,  go to settings/ wireless networks/ eithernet ip settings/ static ip settings. I dont know if ics has the same path. Someone using ics will know. Good luck. 8)
Logged

gjf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 57
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 11:20:21 AM »

On the 7p gingerbread  for static wifi ip
 enter settings;
 Wireless & network settings;
 Wi-Fi settings;
 while on wifi settings page hit menu button (bottom right);
 then go to advanced

for static hardwired ethernet ip
 enter settings;
 ethernet configuration;
 ethernet configuration;
 select static ip

GJF
« Last Edit: February 24, 2012, 11:26:34 AM by gjf »
Logged

Musicman_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: AirPad Static IP Still not working
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2012, 09:42:56 PM »

Thank You everyone for the suggestions,

But still no go  :(

I am using AirPad 7p ICS..
I goto:
1. Settings
2. WiFi
3. Hit Menu Button
4. Hit Advanced

The only 3 options I see are. 1. Network Notifications, 2. Keep Wifi on during sleep, 3. Avoid poor connection.
It also display MAC address, and IP Address. But you can not change the setting here.

I'm pretty computer savvy but I just don't see any option to set the device to a Static IP, which in my case
renders it useless as at work we only use Static IP and DNS.

Any suggestions very much appreciated..
Logged

gjf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 57
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 07:49:56 AM »

Musicman,

Have you tried a shot in the dark and set the static ip under ethernet configuration?
Maybe they cut corners since only one type (wifi or hardwire) can work at a time.
Just a thought.

GJF
Logged

Musicman_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: AirPad Static IP Still not working
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2012, 10:30:46 PM »

I'm pretty computer savvy but I just don't see any option to set the device to a Static IP, which in my case
renders it useless as at work we only use Static IP and DNS.
Any suggestions very much appreciated..

The network owner/administrator should set the router or network server to recognise the tablets network ID (every device or network card has its own ID) and ONLY assign it a certain IP address (IP addresses are assigned by routers or network computers/servers).

Not asking about how to set up a router. I do this for a living :-)
My Office does not use Dynamic IP's (That's where the router assigns an IP to a given device)
I use Static IP's (The router does not assign IP's).
All devices on the network use Static IP's and Specific DNS settings, this is actually very common in a business network environment.

My question is still how how to assign a static IP to the AirPad 7P ICS device.
Logged

Musicman_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2012, 10:55:34 PM »

Musicman,

Have you tried a shot in the dark and set the static ip under ethernet configuration?
Maybe they cut corners since only one type (wifi or hardwire) can work at a time.
Just a thought.

GJF

BRAVO !!!  Thank You GJF
Seems the way to do this is when you actually setup the found WiFi signal.
I had to delete the original settings on the found WiFi signal, then enter in the settings manually.

Seems by default the AirPad finds a WiFi signal and by default sets to Dynamic.
All that well and good, but problem is its give no option to change the settings once it finds the signal.
One must manually delete the connection and then manually re-enter the Static settings.

So I just Changed Dynamic to Static, and entered in all the other required info,
IP, Gateway, DNS, Etc.. And Worked.  :)%

Why doesn't X10 have a real manual on the device?
All I could find is a 12 page sort of quick start manual.

Anyway Thank You everyone for all the suggestions, its working now >!
Logged

gjf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 57
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2012, 06:38:33 AM »

Musicman,

Did the found wifi signal have any ip set?
Also is it letting you set a static per Wifi host?

GJF
Logged

Musicman_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2012, 10:16:58 PM »

Musicman,

Did the found wifi signal have any ip set?
Also is it letting you set a static per Wifi host?

GJF

GJF,

Good Question: I will post something tomorrow from work, as at work we have Static IP only WiFi.
I am hoping that Android 4.0 ICS allows for multiple settings per WiFi host, other wise much like Windows XP you are forced to changes the settings back and forth.

I'm going to guess on what I saw in the settings is that YES, you can have separate settings per WiFi host, but again will have to verify tomorrow at work.

So far I am very impressed with speed of the Android 4.0 ICS Tablet , for the price of $150, just can't be beat.
I know there will be better Tablets out there in time, such is life, but this one's a keeper.

Musicman_
Logged

Musicman_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: AirPad Static IP
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2012, 11:32:33 PM »

Musicman,

Did the found wifi signal have any ip set?
Also is it letting you set a static per Wifi host?

GJF

GJF,

Good Question: I will post something tomorrow from work, as at work we have Static IP only WiFi.
I am hoping that Android 4.0 ICS allows for multiple settings per WiFi host, other wise much like Windows XP you are forced to changes the settings back and forth.

I'm going to guess on what I saw in the settings is that YES, you can have separate settings per WiFi host, but again will have to verify tomorrow at work.

So far I am very impressed with speed of the Android 4.0 ICS Tablet , for the price of $150, just can't be beat.
I know there will be better Tablets out there in time, such is life, but this one's a keeper.

Musicman_

Yes indeed the  AirPad  7p ICS lets you set up static IP for any found WiFi signal and will allow individual settings for each. Im very happy with that.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.