Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: whatismyip  (Read 2619 times)

desi77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 60
whatismyip
« on: May 04, 2012, 10:46:30 PM »

someone please help

i know most likely i am  >*< but here is goes
on my laptop every time i press "refresh" i show new ip at "www.whatismyip.com"
i want it be static,  i can't figure it out, i have done so much reading but still can't nail it down...someone give me detail how to fix my static ip , i need to log into my camera over iphone4s...any input on this would be nice too
Logged

desi77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 60
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 11:15:14 PM »

i think now no matter what my ip shows on "whatismyip.com" it seems i have one static ip for to log into my camera..

but i still need someone's help to view my camera on my iphone.  I have DVR with 4 cam what works just fine..since i have ddns with myq-see.

but this camera won't allow myq-see ...anyways someone help me out please thanks
Logged

gg4000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
  • Been playing x-10 since Windows 3.0
    • GG4000.com
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2012, 09:41:40 AM »

Did you forward your IP (192.168.1.xxx:85)in your router?

cjhallx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 12
  • Posts: 170
  • Over 35 years experience from PCs to mainframes
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2012, 09:47:32 AM »

whatismyip.com
shows your external IP address assigned by your ISP.  They assign this randomly, you would need a business account in most cases to have a permanent IP address
Logged
I have an AIRPAD X which is a re-badge of the ZENITHINK ZT280-C91 and an AIRPAD XL which is a re-badge of the PLOYER MOMO15

If I have helped you please click on "Helpful Post" under my name to the left. Thank you.

desi77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 60
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2012, 04:22:52 PM »

thanks guys for replay
Now even after unpluging my camera i can log into with same ip number that i gave it,  before it wasn't working, somehow i did what need to be done..
I tryied few apps(free apps) on my iphone to conect of that ip it won't work, anyone know what might be doing worng?
Logged

desi77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 60
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2012, 10:16:13 AM »

Damn it
i still can not log into my camera from out side of my home...what am i doing wrong?
someone help me
Logged

cjhallx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 12
  • Posts: 170
  • Over 35 years experience from PCs to mainframes
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2012, 05:25:28 PM »

you are going to have to read the instructions to your router to learn how to do ip forwarding.  access from the outside world only gets you to your router, you need to tell the router based on the port you have has been assigned to the camera how to get to the camera.  say your camera address is 192.168.1.100 on port 100. you would then set ip forwarding on port 100 to go to 192.168.1.100. hope this helps
Logged
I have an AIRPAD X which is a re-badge of the ZENITHINK ZT280-C91 and an AIRPAD XL which is a re-badge of the PLOYER MOMO15

If I have helped you please click on "Helpful Post" under my name to the left. Thank you.

desi77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 60
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2012, 07:11:43 AM »

thanks for your reply
that is how i set it up.. i used port 5555
let say my cam ip is 192.168.0.105

i forward ports in my routor from 5555 to 6666 (both) than did that little check mark

i have 5555 port in my camera setting too.
Logged

cjhallx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 12
  • Posts: 170
  • Over 35 years experience from PCs to mainframes
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2012, 08:36:21 AM »

OK, next step we need to discuss is the firewall.  If your router has a firewall have you opened the firewall up to that port/application?  Same goes for the device you are using to access.  I believe you mentioned an iphone which i know nothing about their network configurations.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2012, 08:43:54 AM by cjhallx »
Logged
I have an AIRPAD X which is a re-badge of the ZENITHINK ZT280-C91 and an AIRPAD XL which is a re-badge of the PLOYER MOMO15

If I have helped you please click on "Helpful Post" under my name to the left. Thank you.

desi77

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 60
Re: whatismyip
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2012, 09:39:03 AM »

Thanks
i will check about firewall when i get home.
I thought ip camera would be easy to view via iphone...but turns out my dvr cam was easy to set up lolz somehow i can view that with iphone app and ddns set up with myq-see.com..
but ip camera doesn't allow you use myq-see....it has dnydns, which is no longer free. :(
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.