Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Poll

Need something to activate my pump relays

now
- 2 (100%)
later
- 0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 2


Author Topic: Thermometer  (Read 8313 times)

kwautosales

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Thermometer
« on: June 18, 2012, 08:14:37 PM »

i need something that can read the temp, i can run alot of things such as zone pump relays using my UM506 and relays but with no feedback its fruitless, my solar HW pump runs on a time loop avoiding excessive pipe heat loss thru over circulating, put a few of these around the house and the heating system is automated *-), the temp sensor and the UM506 options are endless.
Logged

gg4000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
  • Been playing x-10 since Windows 3.0
    • GG4000.com
Re: Thermometer
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 06:02:25 AM »

Maybe a Thermostat switch connected to a DS10A.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12678
Re: Thermometer
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 06:36:40 AM »

Do you want a simple message if the temperature is above or below a set point?

Would you want to have a message with the exact temperature that could be decoded and used by a automation controllers software?
Logged

kwautosales

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Thermometer
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2012, 03:45:34 PM »

i would prefer a temp range with feedback, if this was done then i could use it as a differential controller the replies could be in block temps ranges such as 50-55 deg, 56-60 deg, 61-65 deg so on, this would work great for my solar hot water, also work good for oil backup with wood boiler, it could seriously improve the current setback thermostat that is being produced. it could also be used to for attic fan control, Greenhouse window motors, backup heats source, whole house fans, and much much more.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 106
  • Posts: 2058
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Thermometer
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2012, 05:14:26 PM »

We use the Ocelot X10 controller here for home automation.  With the SECU16 expansion module, I use it to monitor temperature at several locations around our home with just simple thermistors and some math in the Ocelot to convert the readings to degrees.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2483
    • davehouston.org
Re: Thermometer
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2012, 07:28:56 PM »

There was a DIY article many years ago in Nuts & Volts where the author built his own temperature sensors that then communicated over the powerlines using a modified X10 protocol.

If you're looking for an easier route, Jeff's suggestion of the Ocelot and its RS485 modules is reliable but will require running cabling.

There are a number of Arduino projects that deal with wireless sensors, primarily weather related but easily adapted to your needs. 
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

luke03

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 83
Re: Thermometer
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2012, 03:15:26 PM »

There is a controller board called "WebControl", it can hook up to 8 temperature sensor, and it allows you to program how do you want output on or off, through relay board or through X10-RF signal. It can also send you an email when condition meet your needs. The board cost $35 on Amazon.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.