Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Just moved into house with X10  (Read 2016 times)

glennfromDE

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Just moved into house with X10
« on: August 05, 2012, 09:59:43 PM »

I just bought a house and discovered that there are lots of strange switches with buttons instead of actual switches.  I just figured they were different, I didn't know they were X10 until started to have issues with new motion lights I installed in the backyard.  They seem to have trouble coming on, and they almost sort of struggle to come on and they appear to fade-in instead of switch right on.  I went to replace the switch and that's when I realized it's an X10 switch.

So my question is, what in the world am I suppose to do with them?  Is there some sort of control box somewhere or something?  I have looked everywhere, but I dont see anything.  Is it as simple as just removing the switches and replacing with normal switches?  And in case anyone asks about the previous homeowner, she was an elderly woman who passed away so I have no way to get info from her.  That, in itself seemed weird.  I always though X10 was some cool home automation technology stuff, but clearly a 90 year old lady isn't going to be too technical.  So I'm confused.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.  >!

By the way, this is what the switches look like: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21KXaH98xeL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
Logged

kenrad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 198
Re: Just moved into house with X10
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2012, 10:48:57 PM »

Yes for most of your switches it should be as simple and just replacing the switches with regular ones.  but if you add a computer interface and some software it could be an awesome addition to your home.  some of the best software is from third party application that are either free or very inexpensive on the forum.


If you are considering just removing the switches please let us know what you have many users would be interested in purchasing them from you. 


 >! Ken
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 5999
Re: Just moved into house with X10
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2012, 07:56:53 AM »

They seem to have trouble coming on, and they almost sort of struggle to come on and they appear to fade-in instead of switch right on.  I went to replace the switch and that's when I realized it's an X10 switch.

If you elect to keep the X10 system, you can't use an X10 dimming incandecent light switch (the single push button style) to power a motion light, CFL, or LED bulb. The push button style X10 dimming wall switches only work with incandescent bulbs.You would need to at least replace those X10 switches with standard switches.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Just moved into house with X10
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2012, 09:17:48 AM »

You would need to at least replace those X10 switches with standard switches.
You could also replace them with relay-type switches (which are generally CFL-friendly), as long as you have (or can add) a neutral wire in the box.
Logged

nybuck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 405
Re: Just moved into house with X10
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2012, 12:13:02 PM »

If you do not want computer-control for your lights, you can use a desk-top remote, battery-powered pocket-type remote, or a desktop timer to control those switches as well.

Or you can replace them with standard manual switches -- Just another option.
Logged
>!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.