Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: SC1200 - POS  (Read 2439 times)

jbreslau

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
SC1200 - POS
« on: August 16, 2012, 05:44:29 AM »

I had my SC1200 for a total of 2 weeks before I returned it.  The RF range was horrible.  I was able to achieve about 10' of the 100' stated range.
I had door sensors that were 3 feet from the SC1200 that would show that they were open when they were not.

I guess you get what you pay for.  It makes sense why some of the other wireless systems are more expensive.  They have a greater range and are reliable.  What good is a security system if it always lets you down.

Save your money and buy something else.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 5983
Re: SC1200 - POS
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 07:24:46 AM »

You've posted this on three different threads. We get the message.
Only 10 foot range may indicate something else is causing you problems. Although a WiFi network frequency is far removed from the 310mHz RF frequency that the SC1200 uses, if the wireless router in in very close proximity to the SC1200 (like a foot or so), it could be desensitizing it. Also the orientation of the SC1200 has an effect on range...it shouldn't, but it does. If your SC1200 is setting vertical on counter or desk, try setting it up on edge so it is horizontal, and try it.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: SC1200 - POS
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2012, 10:32:49 PM »

What is the normal operating range of this unit and did x10 ever fix or address the issues with the large power horns being out of syn. Thanks

Tom
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.