Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)  (Read 11409 times)

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5825
Re: SC12A Power Issue.
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2012, 10:08:56 AM »

Do you think these loose contacts could contribute to the no power problem.



Yeah, I do.
Brian H will know for sure, but I see what looks to be a wire (from the transformer?) in a blob of solder, but the solder is not whetted to the pcb trace. The black wire to the lower left does not appear to be soldered to the trace either.

Definately no "end of line" visual quality inspection taking place. $0.02
« Last Edit: November 28, 2012, 03:16:19 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12376
Re: SC12A Power Issue.
« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2012, 01:06:05 PM »

Yes I very well could be the problem.
I would inspect the whole board and resolder anything that doesn't look good.

I only pried mine partially open to adjust the frequency determining transformer.
So I don't have lots of information on its insides.

I may do a more thorough examination in a week or so.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2012, 06:48:55 PM by Brian H »
Logged

apica

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: SC12A Power Issue.
« Reply #17 on: December 10, 2012, 04:32:31 PM »

 :)% I re-soldered the loose contacts and power has been restored to my unit. Thank you guys for your help.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5825
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2012, 06:16:16 PM »

Not that it makes any difference, but I wonder if this came from the new factory, or the old one. How old was the unit?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12376
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2012, 07:02:21 PM »

That is great news.
Thanks for letting us know it was a bad solder job from the factory.
Logged

apica

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2012, 07:40:15 AM »

Not that it makes any difference, but I wonder if this came from the new factory, or the old one. How old was the unit?
I'll assume it came from the new factory as I had originally ordered the dx7000 but received the SC12A instead. I had the unit working properly for about 4 months.
Logged

apica

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #21 on: December 11, 2012, 07:41:26 AM »

That is great news.
Thanks for letting us know it was a bad solder job from the factory.

Thank you for your assistance too Brian H. >!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12376
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #22 on: December 11, 2012, 09:20:01 AM »

dave w, If it was about four months old and failed just after the 90 day warranty. It was probably from the new factory and not the X10 one in China they closed.
My 1 1/2 year old one with the bad LCD display was probably from the X10 factory in China.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5825
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #23 on: December 11, 2012, 10:02:33 AM »

dave w, If it was about four months old and failed just after the 90 day warranty. It was probably from the new factory and not the X10 one in China they closed.
Yes, probably means X10 has a lot of retraining to do . If we can detect a poor solder connection from a picture, the end of line QC inspector must have been sick that day. Or maybe X10 didn't pick up that option.  :'
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

haminasr

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2013, 02:36:50 PM »

reference to apica problem , i had mine sc1200 wall wart power adapter blown last week. this post may help others having same problem. With help of electronic guru in Australia i managed to fix the problem. resistance at ac adapter pins was 168 k ohms but this   was because red and black wires attached to adapter pins ,(going to board underneath). once  i desoldered the red and black wires from the pins , Resistance in two pins dropped to nothing (showing blown primary coil). . i opened the adapter cheked Resistance at secondary coil, with keeping the   centre pin common, right and left  showed 7 ohmes each(showing secondary coil intact).
Actually primary coil had thermal fuse which was blown , fuse is  attached to the coil on the underside which can be seen once you desolder the fat red and black wires and lift the transformer .elevated underneath the blue tape . remove blue tape with fine needle very gently not to break thin enamelled wire attached to the fuse on one side .you will see white square like thing with two legs .short these two legs with any thin wires. should  read now (on  voltmeter) Resistance of 282 ohms  across the pins of adapter.( to avoid heating damage of solder to winding of coil , i scraped the fuse top surface with scalpel(tedious job.somehow care fully exposed two wires ends,  bent them  to centre, soldered them together).better directly join two legs of fuse.please note that bypassing the thermal fuse however makes the coil unprotected from future blowing .
i have detailed pics , tried  but i couldnot insert them here. i can send directly to email if requested. please somebody help me , how to attach pics in post
  
« Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 02:38:17 PM by haminasr »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 244
  • Posts: 7861
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2013, 05:35:12 PM »

i have detailed pics , tried  but i couldnot insert them here. i can send directly to email if requested. please somebody help me , how to attach pics in post
 
see topic: The Finer Art of Posting to the Forums
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5825
Re: SC12A Power Issue. (updated)
« Reply #26 on: April 20, 2013, 06:24:18 PM »

Resistance in two pins dropped to nothing (showing blown primary coil).
Nice description, but for the non electronics folks reading, don't you mean "went to infinite or open" ?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2013, 04:57:21 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.