Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Newbie here with a few questions and need for suggestions  (Read 4053 times)

six_in_tombstone

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Newbie here with a few questions and need for suggestions
« on: September 02, 2012, 11:06:26 PM »

I just got my SC1200 system about two weeks ago. There are three zones I am having an issue with and I am sure it is because of RF range. 2 zones are windows and 1 zone is a motion sensor. I am going to try the passive RF repeater but I wonder if the same solution would help boost the RF range for the console maybe placing the wire next to where the antenna is on the console outside of it. Has anyone tried that? Also, would the repeater help with motion sensor, it comes up as tampered on console but I think there maybe RF interference because of where it is located and the signal has to go through a solid wood door. Because of the age of the house and the door is an original door it may have painted over lead paint on it. I did find an article on lead paint interfering with WI-FI signal not sure if that can also be translated to RF signal. If anyone has any suggestions I would be all ears on this one.

http://www.far-far-away.com/~yousif/articles/wifi-sig.php

I also need to set up two more zones for doors but the door frames are not flush with the doors and also one of the doors is metal. I've been reading mounting the magnetic with an inch thick piece of wood or plastic to the door can help for the metal door, but would the same solution help with mounting the magnet and sensor to a door frame that is not flush with the door? In a way bulking up the height of the magnet that is mounted to the door so it matches up with the sensor mounted on the frame. Or is it better to buy the type of magnet that you drill into the frame and put the sensor on the door instead?

Any suggestions on either topic would be greatly appreciated. Thanks