Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Multiple pcs and CM15As  (Read 1799 times)

wapelhj

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Multiple pcs and CM15As
« on: September 13, 2012, 01:18:26 AM »

Time to put my assumptions to rest.    I have multiple pcs running AHP.   Two have CM15As connected.    I assumed as long as they are all using the same ahx file there should be no problem.

Please enlighten me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jim
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Multiple pcs and CM15As
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2012, 07:33:22 AM »

Why?   Two CM15A using the same .ahx file will conflict with each other.   If you want to use two PC's and 2 CM15A's they have to be assigned different module addresses.  PC 1 would use housecodes that PC 2 doesn't have.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2012, 10:24:05 AM by Dan Lawrence »
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Multiple pcs and CM15As
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2012, 09:43:58 AM »

Aside from repeated commands, I see no problems.  It's 5 and 5 at my house with similar .ahx files.  I use flags on the different machines differently.  One machine handles the HVAC system with different flags and conditions.

After several attempts to zone BVC into a gated audio system (I even went as far as to zone stereo channels into 2 separate machines), I found it easier to use different machines.  X10 Dispatcher, BVC and PCC run on these machines, as well as x10wavplayer.  I use a combination of these programs, as different voices announce different functions.

The drawback is when a wireless transmitter is picked up by multiple machines -- you get duplicate PLC commands.  This can be mitigated by setting the individual transceived housecodes on each cm15, or using a WGL receiver, or many other ways.

I personally don't mind the multiple commands, as the main problem comes from dimming lights with a handheld remote,which I seldom use, as I have BVC control a majority of the lighting.  Multiple dim commands make it hard to set the lighting level to where you want it.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.