Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Please help me... POE??  (Read 3971 times)

Suestg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Please help me... POE??
« on: October 22, 2012, 09:33:32 PM »

I recently ordered these cameras

4-Pack: AirSight Outdoor and 2 AirSight Indoor Wireless IP Outdoor Cameras
See what's included   XX34A-XX36A-4PACK-MIX

Got the 2 outdoor cameras, waiting on the 2 indoor cameras, they are back ordered...
Anyhow, what my question is.. What the heck do I need to buy to be able to use
these cameras properly.

Maybe I need to clarify a little... I want to hook them up w/ POE.. 2 indoor and 2 outdoor.
I need 4 poe adapters, and 4 cat5 cables. Do I need a different router .. I have your
basic run of the mill router.. I know I likely need one with at least 4 plugins but speed wise
etc, would a better router work better.. I have only basic knowledge, so please speak
english to me :)

Thanks so much !

Sue
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 09:42:42 PM by Suestg »
Logged

Suestg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Please help me... POE ??
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2012, 09:37:35 PM »

Well thanks so much for all the help  ( NOT ) that I received here.. 76 views and not a single reply..
I thought I would share what I found out in case someone else had the same question and wanted
help.. that they aren't likely to receive here ;(

Thank you Nicholas Talbot for helping me when no one else would even bother..

Here is what Nicholas said

Sue, Lets see if i can end some of your frustration for you. So to run your 4
cameras with a poe kit, you will need 4 kits total. One for each camera. You
will also need the length of cat 5 cable that you will need for each camera. 4
lengths of cable total. As for your hub, your hub most likely will work fine
for you, but you would be much happier with the performance of the cameras if
upgraded the hub/modem.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 09:42:20 PM by Suestg »
Logged

beelocks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 245
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2012, 10:28:41 PM »

Since this is a user-to-user forum will little to no input from X10 technical support you have a couple of choices...

1) wait until someone who knows what you're talking about logs on, or
b) phone the technical support helpline, or
iii) RTFM.

Let's just hope that someone is able to give you some good advice on power over ethernet adapters with regard to maximum cable runs.

Let's hope even more that someone with a crystal ball knows what router/hub you have already and why you would need to upgrade it :)
Logged
Although my explanations may not be exactly clear, I do hope for slightly less cloudy.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12853
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2012, 06:07:10 AM »

How far do you want to have the cameras from the router?
The Passive POE kits sold by X10 are said to be good for 100 feet. We have users that have had no luck getting enough power to a camera at near the 100 feet specified.
Type of network cable {CAT5 CAT6} makes a difference with the passive POE kits. The heavier the wire gauge the more chances you may have success. Most cables I have seen. CAT5 was 26 or 24 gauge and CAT6 was 24, 23 or 22 gauge. Lower number gauge is actually the heavier wire. 22 is heavier than 24 or 26.

The more expensive Active POE Adapters. Use a higher voltage {48 volts} on the router side and a voltage regulator for proper voltage at the cameras. Common voltages are twelve volts one amp and five volts two amps. Sometimes selected by a switch on the unit.
I have not seen any that can do the twelve volts two amps some of the X10 cameras require.

What model router do you have?

As mentioned. We are mostly volunteers and other end users here. We may not have an exact answer you need at our finger tips. As more users read your messages. They may have done exactly what you desire and will give you the information.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 07:03:46 AM by Brian H »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12853
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2012, 07:23:17 AM »

Here is a link to another POE question.
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=27623.0

Some of the unresponding readers you mentioned. Where probably search engines filling their databases. Like Goggle and Bing.
Logged

Suestg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2012, 08:08:40 AM »

Thank you for the replies.. I did read the manual and it offered no real help in this area..

I want to go maybe 50 - 75 feet from the router. I ordered 4 poe kits and 4 cables.

My router currently is a DLink DIR 610 and I am thinking about ordering the
Linksys E4500 router. But have no knowledge of routers other than they
work and make me able to use my laptop anywhere I want in the house/yard.

In the future I maybe want to move a few cameras farther out into the yard... but would likely
end up making them wireless.

Thanks!
Logged

X10 Repair Depot

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 311
  • I am here to help
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2012, 10:40:08 AM »

Suestg,

I apologize for not responding earlier.

Nicholas did provide the correct information and you did order the correct parts. Each camera will need a POE kit and a cable.

As far as the router goes, as long as you have 1 available network port per camera, your current router will be fine. The speed of the router should not matter, all routers should be able to handle 100 Mbps which is the speed of the cameras.
Logged

Suestg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2012, 08:55:20 PM »

Thanks for your reply x10 Repair Depot !

I wrote support and got 2 other answers.. One said that I should upgrade and get a Linksys E series router, one
told me that I should get a G router... as the cameras work on a wireless G network. Now I am thinking it best to
save my money, set it all up and see how it goes before jumping in and buying a new router..

Thanks for your help... I truly appreciate it !

Sue
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2012, 02:16:44 PM »

Why would you need a wireless G router when you're going to run POE? 
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6097
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2012, 03:06:10 PM »

Why would you need a wireless G router when you're going to run POE? 
rofl
Lets hope the *support* that Suestg wrote to about wireless routers and PoE, was not X10 Support.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

beelocks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 245
Re: Please help me... POE??
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2012, 04:01:44 PM »

Why would you need a wireless G router when you're going to run POE? 

I had thought of that, but considered that Sue wanted POE for the power and would be using wireless for signal.

Just because it makes no sense to me it doesn't mean that it's not a perfectly logical set-up for someone who has just enough knowledge to be dangerous.

I have a curious feeling that, perhaps, Sue is not giving her tech support people ALL of the information in one go to enable them to advise a complete solution - indeed, if she told them that she wanted wireless cameras using POE, one would hope that anyone on the other end of the support line would make the connection (sorry, couldn't resist the pun) that if you're running wires then you might as well run wires.
Logged
Although my explanations may not be exactly clear, I do hope for slightly less cloudy.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.