Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Need help with Port Forwarding  (Read 2872 times)

craigceg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Need help with Port Forwarding
« on: November 11, 2012, 01:47:05 AM »

I have two cameras and they work well internally however I am having problems seeing anything from a browser outside the building.

I have a dyndns.com account with the DNS client updater.

I have a Comcast business class gateway and a Netgear wireless router and Norton Internet Security (Firewall). The Comcast has an IP of 10.1.10.1 and the Netgear has a static IP of 10.1.10.10 and the cameras get their IP from the Netgear Wireless DHCP which has a range of 192.168.1.1 through 192.168.1.49. The cameras are 192.168.1.13 and 192.158.1.14 respectively.

Where do I do the port forwarding? Do I port forward in the Comcast Router/Gateway AND the Netgear Wireless or just one of them?

I am confused and need somebody to help move in the right direction. I would appreciate any help you can give me.

Thank you.

Craig
Logged

gg4000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
  • Been playing x-10 since Windows 3.0
    • GG4000.com
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 07:23:09 AM »

I have six cams. All of them are forwarded from my Wireless router only.

mjb928s

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2012, 02:31:16 PM »

You have to assign static ip address for each camera.  From outisde your network sign onto the camera using your external address then :port.
Logged

craigceg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2012, 08:40:05 PM »

How do I assign a static IP address to each camera?
Logged

craigceg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2012, 10:12:53 PM »

Okay, I have set static IP addresses, but I am still having a problem. My first observation is that in the IP Camera Tool I see both cameras but one of them has an IP that shows the port number and the second camera does not show the port number.

Internally, both cameras show up in IE and the IP Cam Client.

When I access them outside the network through dyndns.com I only see one of the cameras. I can't see the camera that shows in the IP Camera Tool that shows the port number. I get a can't connect message to the second camera.

What have I done wrong?

Thank you for your help so far.

Craig
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 10:15:24 PM by craigceg »
Logged

gg4000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
  • Been playing x-10 since Windows 3.0
    • GG4000.com
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2012, 05:35:20 PM »

Did you forward the port with the ip for the second cam?
Is there a enable check box, and is it checked?

craigceg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2012, 11:25:55 PM »

Yes and Yes. Both cameras are port forwarded to port 80 and 81. As mentioned previously one camera shows 192.168.1.13 and the second camera shows as 192.168.1.14:81 in the IP camera tool. The camera that shows with the port number can't connect outside the network.

Also, I had asked earlier about where the port forwarding should take place and the only way I could anything to show up through my dyndns account was to port forward in BOTH the Comcast router and the Netgear router.

The Comcast router has DHCP with 10.1.10.1 as the gateway. The Netgear router has been set to a static IP of 10.1.10.10 and also has DHCP turned on with a gateway of 192.168.1.1.
Logged

gg4000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
  • Been playing x-10 since Windows 3.0
    • GG4000.com
Re: Need help with Port Forwarding
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2012, 05:01:31 AM »

It seems like the ports are still not being opened. Except 80.
80 is usually open and ":80" will not show or will disappear from your link, because it's known to be open all ready.

 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.