Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.  (Read 5160 times)

Danny1947

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« on: March 08, 2013, 09:01:14 AM »

I can not find a camera the IP Camera Tool just stays blank  no error no nothing. I have used these same cameras on Win XP and it found them.  Other forums have many posting saying the same problem.  But it seems no fix here. 
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 11:27:59 AM »

I can not find a camera the IP Camera Tool just stays blank  no error no nothing. I have used these same cameras on Win XP and it found them.  Other forums have many posting saying the same problem.  But it seems no fix here. 
Found this on another site:

Q. Internet Explorer 7/8 crashes upon loading the IP Camera interface.


A. This can be caused by the IE8 Data Execution Prevention (DEP). The workaround is to clear the option Tools > Internet Options > Advanced > “Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks" in IE settings (Administrator account is required).
Logged

Maltby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 52
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 08:36:29 AM »

I don't see that option in the advanced settings.
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 10:45:30 AM »

I don't see that option in the advanced settings.


Internet Exporer go to Internet Options > Advanced >Security> Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks

I viewed my Internet Explorer using the above and its there. I did miss seeing it 3 times at first glance and had to read every item there until i found it
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12856
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2013, 12:54:53 PM »

Near the bottom of the long list.
In the security area with the closed padlock next to the security section.
Logged

Maltby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 52
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2013, 11:31:46 PM »

I have looked and looked.  It isn't there.
Logged

X10 Repair Depot

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 311
  • I am here to help
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2013, 08:22:43 AM »

I can not find a camera the IP Camera Tool just stays blank  no error no nothing. I have used these same cameras on Win XP and it found them.  Other forums have many posting saying the same problem.  But it seems no fix here. 

Danny,

You did not indicate what camera you have, but if you are using a XX39A or XX59A the IP camera tool will not work. You would need to use SearchIPCam.exe (which is on the CD) for these cameras.
Logged

irethedo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2013, 03:44:18 AM »

For what it is worth, I am using explorer v 8, the option
"Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks" is checked
and I am having the same problem with my xx39A cameras...

So if anyone can figure out what is going on, I too would be happy to hear about the fix...

 
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6097
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2013, 09:02:45 AM »

For what it is worth, I am using explorer v 8, the option
"Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks" is checked
and I am having the same problem with my xx39A cameras...

So if anyone can figure out what is going on, I too would be happy to hear about the fix...

 
Read again:
Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 07:27:59 AM »
It says to clear the selection.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

irethedo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2013, 01:12:51 PM »

Quote
Read again:
Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 07:27:59 AM »
It says to clear the selection.

Thanks.... I will try that when I get home.
Do I need to close down IE, reset router, or reboot my laptop afterwards for this to take hold?
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2013, 09:16:32 PM »

Quote
Read again:
Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 07:27:59 AM »
It says to clear the selection.

Thanks.... I will try that when I get home.
Do I need to close down IE, reset router, or reboot my laptop afterwards for this to take hold?
won't hurt.. i would
Logged

irethedo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2013, 10:48:35 PM »

didn't help at all...
Logged

irethedo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2013, 08:31:52 AM »

So I was able to reach the X10 support group yesterday and the fellow there
suggested the following steps:


(none of these were successful but I thought that I would post them
here in case they may be useful for someone else with the same situation.)

1.  Perform a factory reset of the xx39A camera by inserting a pin in the hole under antenna
     for 45 seconds while connected to router.

2. Check search IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present. If not reset the router and check again.

Other things to try:

-Try a different cat5 cable and check IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present.

-Try a different port on router and check IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present.

- Turn off anti-virus and check IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present.
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2013, 11:08:55 PM »

So I was able to reach the X10 support group yesterday and the fellow there
suggested the following steps:


(none of these were successful but I thought that I would post them
here in case they may be useful for someone else with the same situation.)

1.  Perform a factory reset of the xx39A camera by inserting a pin in the hole under antenna
     for 45 seconds while connected to router.

2. Check search IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present. If not reset the router and check again.

Other things to try:

-Try a different cat5 cable and check IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present.

-Try a different port on router and check IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present.

- Turn off anti-virus and check IPSearchTool  to see if camera is present.

This is something that happen with me.

The install didn't go ok and Dvm_ipcam2.ocx was not install where it should have been on the hard drive. It should be

 windows>system32>DVM_ipcam2.ocx

check to see if yours may have been install incorrectly.

NOTE: I wound up doing a factory reset on my computer... but i didn't have anything import and what i needed i put on a micro sd card.
Logged

irethedo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: IP Camera Tool using Win 7 not showing anything.
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2013, 04:29:48 AM »

DVM_ipcam2.ocx does not exist on my hard drive and if I had a copy of this file 
I would load it on there but the tech support guy said that I copy this file from the
camera once I connect and log my browser on to the camera...

Is this one of those chicken and the egg kind of things where I can only see
the camera if this file exists but the only way to get this file is to see the camera
and copy it from the camera?


Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.