Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: POE and XX59A camera  (Read 2408 times)

mefeeboshet

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
POE and XX59A camera
« on: March 17, 2013, 01:17:02 AM »

Is the XX59A (Airsight HD) camera too much for a POE installation?

I purchased a camera and a POE kit. when I used the standard power adapter the camera functioned fine. I connected the ethernet cable that came with the camera (4ft) and used the POE adapters along with the standard power adapter. No other device was connected at either end. I was simply testing the concept. The camera would not stop rebooting as if it was starved for power.

Has anyone been successful using POE with a XX59A camera?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 292
  • Posts: 12840
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 06:13:24 AM »

With four feet of cable between the injector and the tap. There should be no problems at all.
You may want to try a different Network cable as a test. As when the power cube is directly on the camera. The four wires used for the power are not used.
My second thoughts are the POE kit has a defect.

What is the power rating on the power cube? This may help me calculate a typical voltage drop in the POE with four feet of cable.
Rough calculations showed me around .25 volts at two amps.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 06:17:34 AM by Brian H »
Logged

mefeeboshet

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 01:00:15 PM »

I looked further at the X10 web site for information regarding the POE kit. I don't see the Airsight HD camera in the list of supported devices. It's possible that the HD camera has power requirements that the POE kit cannot deliver.

I'll try another cable as well.
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 02:43:02 PM »

I have been using the POE with my xx40a outdoor camera with no problems with power.

Have you tried connecting power directly to the camera while it is still connected wired to the router for internet connection?
Logged

X10 Repair Depot

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 311
  • I am here to help
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 02:45:55 PM »

mefeeboshet,

The XX59A is compatible with a PoE Kit. I am not sure why it is not working with the 4ft cord.

Logged

mefeeboshet

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2013, 08:26:03 PM »

I tried a another POE kit that I have with the same results
I tried another camera (xx42a). Didn't work.
I tried a different 4ft cat6 cable. Didn't work
I can't get either POE kit to work with either camera.

The kit I have is POEPASS-03.

Both cameras connect to the net via WIFI so there is no interaction between the POE adapters and the operation of the camera.
Logged

richy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 303
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2013, 09:30:48 PM »

I tried a another POE kit that I have with the same results
I tried another camera (xx42a). Didn't work.
I tried a different 4ft cat6 cable. Didn't work
I can't get either POE kit to work with either camera.

The kit I have is POEPASS-03.

Both cameras connect to the net via WIFI so there is no interaction between the POE adapters and the operation of the camera.


I use a CAT5 cable for xx40a, could it be Cat6 cable?

For others that are confused like me...READ THIS
http://www.a-wiring.com/cat5-vs-cat5e-vs-cat6-which-ethernet-cable-should-you-be-using/
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 292
  • Posts: 12840
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2013, 06:11:33 AM »

Are you sure the cables are standard network patch cables a NOT a network cross over wired cable?

CAT6 should not effect the DC from the POE.
The gauge of the wire in the cable and length of the cable could. I have seen #26 and #24 listed in many CAT cables. #26 would be the worse of the two gauges as it is the smallest with the most resistance.
At 4 feet the resistance is very small and the test cables gauge would not be a large factor.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 11:24:22 AM by Brian H »
Logged

mefeeboshet

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: POE and XX59A camera
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2013, 02:08:53 AM »

I'm using standard patch cables. Not a crossover.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.