Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: question about setting outside lamps with x10  (Read 2469 times)

nabril15

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
question about setting outside lamps with x10
« on: May 11, 2013, 10:58:49 AM »

i love this forum....

I have an xps3 switch controlling my patio's 2 lamp posts; I do not know if post 1 comes straight to the xps3 or post 2. I assume that the xps3 goes to one post, and then the run continues to the other post.

I plan to remove both ugly posts, and use that cable run to feed 120v landscape lighting--I am planning to put in spike floods to illuminate up the palm trees, and perhaps some fence lights that illuminate down. I would like to separate those 2 methods (floods and fence lights) so that they dont all come on all the time.

So I ask. I have the xps3 installed, but can I install an xpfm module to control, say the fence lights with number 8, for example. My xps3 has number 7 so when I turn it on, the palm trees are lit. If I want the fence downlights, I turn on 8. Will this work?

As always...big thanks
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6031
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2013, 11:42:56 AM »

So I ask. I have the xps3 installed, but can I install an xpfm module to control, say the fence lights with number 8, for example. My xps3 has number 7 so when I turn it on, the palm trees are lit. If I want the fence downlights, I turn on 8.
Yes it should. If I understand, you will be feeding the fence lighting from the XPS3 palm light feed...Is that correct?
The XPS3 being a relay style switch will pass X10 commands. So you would have to turn on the XPS3 first. The XPS3 would feed power to the XPFM so the palm lights will have to be on for the fence lights to work. And the fence lights will have to be turned off first if you don't intend them to come on with the palm light feed. An alternative would be to take the XPS3 completely out of the picture and then use two XPFMs. One for each circuit.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2013, 11:47:23 AM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12750
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2013, 11:46:27 AM »

The XPFM like the X10 appliance modules. Has a ratchet switch in it. If you turn the XPS3 off and the XPFM was on. It will be on when power is reapplied.
Logged

nabril15

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2013, 01:54:26 PM »

Yes it should. If I understand, you will be feeding the fence lighting from the XPS3 palm light feed...Is that correct?
The XPS3 being a relay style switch will pass X10 commands. So you would have to turn on the XPS3 first. The XPS3 would feed power to the XPFM so the palm lights will have to be on for the fence lights to work. And the fence lights will have to be turned off first if you don't intend them to come on with the palm light feed. An alternative would be to take the XPS3 completely out of the picture and then use two XPFMs. One for each circuit.
[/quote]

brian and dave
you are like starsky and hutch of x10.
Like dwayne wade and lebron james of the miami heat. Always helpful, always knowledgeable.
The 2 xpfm route is definitely smarter since that would allow me to bypass having to turn on the xps3 to have the fence lights on. But at almost $29 each on ebay, it makes me think about it. I am having some electrical work done in the backyard as part of a new gazebo, so maybe I can get the electrician to give me a separate power feed/line to use for the fence lights. That way I can keep the palms on the xps3, and the fence lights will go on a separate circuit with the XPFM.
thanks again
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6031
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2013, 04:56:47 PM »

You da man!! :)%
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

nabril15

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2013, 09:25:32 PM »

oK Brian, I may stomp you with this one, or I may get a simple--you cant do that.

I have another XPS3 controlling a roof-mounted pair of flood lights. The flood lights have a motion detector and photocell. You can force them to stay on by turning them off, and turning them back on a few seconds later; I achieve this by using my remote control to ON/OFF/ON.

I would like to achieve this with my mini timer, and this is how I have it programmed:
8:10pm on
8:11pm off
8:12pm on

That minute difference between off and on is not enough to keep the lights on full time--as I said, it has to be a few seconds in between.
If I program the timer as 8:10pm on/8:11pm off/8:11pm on...will this work? Will the mini timer transmit the off and the on immediately? or will it do it at the same time perhaps (8:11pm)?
thanks



Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12750
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2013, 07:24:10 AM »

The On Off sequences may depend on which Mini-Timer you have. The original MT10A or one of the newer MT12A and MT13A models.
I don't have an original MT10A but tried both a MT12A and MT13A models.
The MT12A and MT13A do allow a On and Off at the same time, but it seems the On is always sent first and I could not find a way to reverse it.
Below is the log from a Smarthome 1132CU running Smarthome Manager Essentials.

MT12A Set to 7:00 On. 7:01 Off. 7:01 On.

R: B1 - 6:59:57 AM 5/29/2013
R: BOn - 6:59:57 AM 5/29/2013
R: B1 - 7:00:57 AM 5/29/2013
R: BOn - 7:00:57 AM 5/29/2013
R: B1 - 7:00:57 AM 5/29/2013
R: BOff - 7:00:58 AM 5/29/2013

MT13A Set to 7:10 On 7:11 Off 7:11 On.

R: B1 - 7:10:17 AM 5/29/2013
R: BOn - 7:10:18 AM 5/29/2013
R: B1 - 7:11:17 AM 5/29/2013
R: BOn - 7:11:17 AM 5/29/2013
R: B1 - 7:11:18 AM 5/29/2013
R: BOff - 7:11:18 AM 5/29/2013
« Last Edit: May 29, 2013, 07:51:29 AM by Brian H »
Logged

nabril15

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: question about setting outside lamps with x10
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2013, 03:17:46 PM »

thank you as always brian
I have an mt13a, and I will try it tonight. However, if it sends the ON before the OFF, then I may have to continue to do it manually.
Of course, I could replace the flood lights with a model that doesnt have a motion sensor...
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.