Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 ... 31 32 [33] 34

Author Topic: New x10 Wi-Fi unit  (Read 79055 times)

astrothug

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 117
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #480 on: January 04, 2018, 01:41:31 AM »

wow this is so cool, do we have a base price? i  put away my x10 controller and bought a samsung smartthings hub, and Philips hue hub.  What i missed the most from my x10 is my house talking to me with the help of MSAgent Nicole by Guile3D. I have been trying to do something similar with my present set up. thanks all for the updates...
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7191
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #481 on: January 04, 2018, 11:23:00 AM »

 Avioninnovative.com has a new Blue Tooth controller out which starts at $199(includes $20 app) ::) :'
I thought that was a bit out of sight considering you only get local control.

So I guess the initial price of the X10WIFI(app) and WM100(hardware) combo isn't to bad a deal at $99.
Authinx stated that was as low as they could offer this without losing their shirts, although I don't expect them to make a profit off this for some time. Hopefully I'm wrong. ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 34
  • Posts: 2153
    • davehouston.org
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #482 on: January 04, 2018, 12:05:43 PM »

So I guess the initial price of the X10WIFI(app) and WM100(hardware) combo isn't to bad a deal at $99.

Marmitek's Ethernet-to-X10 RF device costs about $75 plus it requires an RF-to-PLC transceiver so $99 doesn't seem too bad by comparison.
https://www.uk-automation.co.uk/marmitek-tip10rf-smartphone-to-x10-interface/
« Last Edit: January 04, 2018, 12:12:38 PM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7191
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #483 on: January 04, 2018, 12:11:05 PM »

I actually forgot about that unit. :-[
 It also isn't Wi-Fi if I remember right, it has to use a Ethernet cable.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 43
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #484 on: January 04, 2018, 12:38:48 PM »

I actually forgot about that unit. :-[
 It also isn't Wi-Fi if I remember right, it has to use a Ethernet cable.

Correct. PLC via Ethernet. Separate transceiver required for RF control.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 34
  • Posts: 2153
    • davehouston.org
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #485 on: January 04, 2018, 12:59:42 PM »

To clarify the Marmitek TIP10RF...
     Ethernet -> RF -> PLC

Once connected to your network it can be controlled via WiFi but it has no WiFi capability itself.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

petera

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 43
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #486 on: January 05, 2018, 08:36:35 AM »

To clarify the Marmitek TIP10RF...
     Ethernet -> RF -> PLC

Once connected to your network it can be controlled via WiFi but it has no WiFi capability itself.

That's correct. RF via Ethernet only. Connects directly to your router. No need for a computer. Transceiver handles RF signal from TIP10RF locally.
Logged

Mic_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 57
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #487 on: January 14, 2018, 11:28:52 PM »

Just so I don't miss the boat here...the long awaited WiFi unit is here? Do I understand that it in limited supply? Where can I see what this thing looks like? What will it allow one to do?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 12178
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #488 on: January 15, 2018, 05:41:44 AM »

Just so I don't miss the boat here...the long awaited WiFi unit is here? Do I understand that it in limited supply? Where can I see what this thing looks like? What will it allow one to do?

Look at post #465 for a photo of the unit.
Posts indicate the first production run of them is on a boat to the USA.
With a small quantity of then sent by air. For evaluation.

More data besides here. In Jeff's Forums.
Last post.
http://jvde.us/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=52v5jl4fs0nnmhqm4i91io2241&topic=329.msg1717#new
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 08:29:01 AM by Brian H »
Logged

Mic_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 57
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #489 on: January 15, 2018, 02:55:34 PM »

Thanks all
Logged

abxflyr

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #490 on: January 15, 2018, 03:37:11 PM »

To ask a few questions about the WM100....after someone/anyone develops a skill for Alexa, will one be able to simply use Alexa and have it comm with the WM100 for simple X10 commands? 

For me, I'm new to the Alexa and are looking for the best/simplest option to integrate into a long standing x10 system.  I don't need anything other than the basic communication since I will have all complex scripting and commanding done from current stand alone controller (Ocelot) and PCS scenemaster switching.  I've considered Tuiceman's Alex10, but it requires a Win10 computer to run continuous (not in love with that); and the set up....is taxing my computer skills.  I know for most it's easy, guess I'm not most in the arena. 

Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7191
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #491 on: January 15, 2018, 06:25:07 PM »

Once a skill is available you'll not need anything else. (other then x10 modules)
Alex10 was created for Win !0 but I've heard it is being used in older OS above XP.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

akeene

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 3
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #492 on: January 16, 2018, 04:51:30 AM »

I would love a X10 WIFI hub.
Hey Tuiceman, Seens your site is broken.
Something changed?
Permission denied in ??
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7191
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #493 on: January 16, 2018, 06:21:23 AM »

I would love a X10 WIFI hub.
Hey Tuiceman, Seens your site is broken.
Something changed?
Permission denied in ??

well the modules are here the delay now is not Apple but changes made for it need to be redone for the Android app.
Not a good idea to release something that you can't access. B:(

As for my forum,
Godaddy is working on it I'm told
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Mic_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 57
Re: New x10 Wi-Fi unit
« Reply #494 on: January 20, 2018, 08:49:44 AM »

Question; first thanks for the notice that the x10 WiFi unit is here, I ordered mine.  Will there we a windows phone app available? If not, I will get an Android phone to work with this long awaited device.

Next question; I have one computer at home with win XP; will the new wifi device work on XP? Thanks all
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 31 32 [33] 34
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.