Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: What am I missing?  (Read 3998 times)

matchead20

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
What am I missing?
« on: September 12, 2014, 04:19:21 AM »

Hey all! First post and need some help. We just bought this house about a month ago and noticed that there are some X10 products installed. Haven't pulled anything down yet to get model numbers, but there are two X10 Activehome outdoor motion sensors and two wireless cameras that appear to be Xcams. What would we need to get to make this system work? I have a feeling the motion sensors were set up to control the cameras. I know I need some kind of receiver, but I don't know what kind. Also, is there any way the cameras could be wired to a coax outlet? We have an odd double coax outlet in one room.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12750
Re: What am I missing?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2014, 06:05:34 AM »

You may want to look at the X10wiki for some information until you can get model numbers that would help in giving you detailed information.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Main_Page

In the Cameras area is a section on XCam wired and XCam Wireless models.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Cameras
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6977
Re: What am I missing?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2014, 10:24:03 AM »

...... there are two X10 Activehome outdoor motion sensors and two wireless cameras that appear to be Xcams. What would we need to get to make this system work? I have a feeling the motion sensors were set up to control the cameras. I know I need some kind of receiver, but I don't know what kind.

Yes the wireless xcams do require a (1ea) 2.4mhz receiver. The idea being that the motion sensor switch camera views for you.

You will also need a X10 receiver (like a TM751) that takes the RF signals sent by the motion sensor and puts it on the powerline so the cameras know when to switch on/off. You may already have one in a plug some where.

Also, is there any way the cameras could be wired to a coax outlet? We have an odd double coax outlet in one room.

The receivers RCA plugs allow users to connect to a TV. But you can (I have) convert the RCA to coax (using an adapter) to then run the video signal further from the receiving point. This actually works well for the limited range of the cameras.

I still run one (wired) X10 camera myself. It is possible that both of your cameras and the motion sensors still work.

But then... if you are available to view the video... you could switch your TV from HDMI/cable/satellite to video mode.... and see what the old low quality video cameras have. But... how would you know when the motion sensors have activated the cameras?

The cameras were originally designed to record to a run-of-the-mill VCR (another device required). The cameras could also be recorded on computers.... and at one time (using the now defunct X10 servers) even viewed online. More parts and pieces required.

Today...... cameras are much better and almost all have automatic IR lighting. The modern way is to record 24/7 to a DVR with a large HD. Connected to an internet connection.... and with a server redirect (often a small annual fee). These cameras can even be viewed on a smart phone.... from anywhere. Video or images can even be uploaded to "the cloud".
« Last Edit: September 12, 2014, 10:46:25 AM by HA Dave »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.