Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: AHP Lifejacket  (Read 28452 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
AHP Lifejacket
« on: December 08, 2014, 05:09:34 PM »

Since X10WTI went under and Microsoft stopped supporting XP many of us have been wondering how to get AHP and our plugins moved and working to a new PC.

I could have had this little tool ready sooner but I wanted to make sure it worked for others.

AHP Lifejacket will unlock most plugins and AHP but I can't guarantee that those which require a x10 server will work.
This only will register your AHP if you already have a registered AHP working on another PC.
See the enclosed readme for the info you will require from that PC.

This tool should be in every ones tool kit even if X10 servers do come back online.
This tool is still not 100% successful for all plugins as yet however I continue to work on this.
I have ran this on a number of different windows installs (32 & 64 bit) and have been told it even works on a XP machine.

Warning: This tool is for new systems without any existing registered programs installed
Attempting to use this on a older system could result in other programs becoming unregistered.
A PC ID revert after lifejacket has completed and AHP is registered will be require in those instances.
 >!
« Last Edit: May 16, 2016, 07:10:48 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 12:44:56 PM »

Although the read me does explain the steps sometimes a picture helps.
You need to make sure AHP isn't running or this tool won't work correctly and AHP will remain unregistered.
it is probably best to do this right after a reboot to be sure you haven't ran AHP and it isn't holding on to any resources.
Find the required file and place it in the folder that AHP Lifejacket is in.
Right click on AHP Lifejacket and select "run as administrator"
Follow the steps in the attachment.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 05:45:18 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 05:28:20 PM »

I realize not everyone is skilled at finding files and editing them so I continue to work on this to make as simple to use as possible.
Some Plugins need a registry key written and so far I have identified one (ActivePhone).
The next release of this will include and do that for you.

For those that don't have a registered copy of AHP or any plugins:
I continue to push X10 for ways to register for you.
I have submitted a copy of this to them to show I can unlock an unregistered AHP and plugins.
Perhaps they will endorse the use of this with a universal ID and registration file until they have something better in place. ;)

Anyone can view my progress on this tool Here: http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=806.msg4577#msg4577

 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2014, 09:35:01 PM »

For those who need to keep the drive ID as is!
It is possible to change the drive ID back and still keep AHP registered.
See the link to the thread on my site:
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=806.msg4658#msg4658
 >!
« Last Edit: September 02, 2017, 08:14:26 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2015, 09:23:13 AM »

There have been a few reports of this not working on XP or Vista.
However there are more successful reports then failures.
It is possible that a step was missed for the failed attempts so I'm attempting to make the tool more fool proof.
This may result in more message popups which will slow the process but should result in fewer failed attempt reports.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2015, 05:44:06 PM »

The new build was submitted to Authinx and I received approval to post the latest version with registration files included! :)%

Currently this is available on my forum but I should have the all the links converted to point to the new build before the end of the week.
The only request I have is that you post here a thumbs up if it helps you!
 >!
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 05:46:26 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2015, 07:36:03 AM »

Here is the link to the full version of AHP Lifejacket including registration info.
Note: This must be run as Administrator and is still only recommended for new systems.
 >!

Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2015, 09:03:15 AM »

There has been a few cases where AHP Lifejacket doesn't see the current Drive ID.
This is usually on older systems with multi drives I haven't seen this on newer systems but that's not to say it won't happen.

If this is the case it will not restore the old ID without some work by the end user.
If AHP lifejacket doesn't display the current ID and before you change the drive ID
Go to run type CMD enter then type vol then hit enter.
This should bring up the current Drive ID write down the 8 digit id.
Run AHP lifejacket and register AHP.
Now open the AHP Lifejacket folder and find the OldVolume ID.txt file
edit this file with notepad remove the text that is in the file and replace the drive ID you wrote down.
eg: 23c4-5b6c
Then save and close the txt file.
AHP Lifejacket is now set to roll back your drive ID to the old one if you wish.
 >!
« Last Edit: January 09, 2015, 01:05:19 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

bt54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2015, 04:18:41 PM »

From Tuicemen..................
I'll need to know things that may help others in the same situation.
Windows version?
Are you Administrator? - YES
Where do you have AHP installed?  - C:\Program Files (x86)\ActiveHome Pro
Did you install AHP 3.318 or just copy AHP over from another PC? - New Install

Thanks for the reply !!!
Logged
If it doesn't work get a BIGGER hammer!!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2015, 04:46:43 PM »

Can you view hidden files and folders and system files?
if not go to the AHP Lifejacket folder  and make sure you can see the X10Prod.sys file
then go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10\Common
 then click organize
click folder and search options
click show hidden files, folders, drives
click apply
then at the top click Apply to folders
then click OK
you should now see the X10prod.sys file in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10\Common folder
 
You should now be able to run AHP Lifejacket
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2015, 12:46:38 PM »

Many users are attempting to register plugins without the proper info.
this results in a registry entry being added which must be edited in order for the nag screen to stop poping up for active phone
To do this open regedit
Navigate to [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0103-10B6-DC5BA692C858}\X10\AHP\Settings\System].
Look for the REG_DWORD named "isActivePhone". You should see it set to "1".
Change it to "0", and that should fix it


For other plugins simply editing the ahp_plugin.xml file in AHP will remove the nag for the registration of the plugin it can't find.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2015, 12:48:20 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2015, 08:56:06 AM »

I didn't realize AHP uses a different key for 64 bit verses a 32 Bit OS.
This will mean users  with 64 bit  windows won't be able to get their active phone or the Pro version working.
The registry entry needed for 64 bit is:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0103-10B6-DC5BA692C858}\X10\AHP\Settings\System]
you'll need to add a new REG_DWORD named "isActivePhone" with the value of "1"

If you don't know how to do this or are uncomfortable editing the registry then don't attempt it.
A new version of AHP Lifejacket will be out in Nov which will do this for you.
 >!
« Last Edit: October 26, 2015, 09:28:42 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2015, 03:22:34 PM »

I believe Lifejacket will register all plugins correctly beginning with version1.0.1.1
However I require a user with all plugins currently registered and working to help confirm this.
Preferably (but not necessarily ) with AHP and all plugins registered to Tim Forehand.

Some good news, so far it appears the only plugin that currently registers but doesn't work is My House Online.
All mobile Phone plugins appear to work properly ( at least connect both Wi-Fi and 3G)
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

jclarkw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 80
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2015, 08:02:21 AM »

Warning: This tool is for new systems without any existing registered programs installed
Attempting to use this on a older system could result in other programs becoming unregistered
 >!
Tuicemen -- Is this still true?  Because of the renaming of the drive?  If so, I guess I'm still stuck with the old Marmitek approach (which worked for me a few years ago but I will now have to reconstruct...), since my Win7 Pro 64bit system has many applications installed -- jclarkw
« Last Edit: November 19, 2015, 08:10:41 AM by jclarkw »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7799
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: AHP Lifejacket
« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2015, 08:09:19 AM »

No.
However you may have to revert to the drive ID prior if other installed programs need the old ID.
Version 1.0.1.3 is now available which is more helpful at reverting the ID.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.