Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog  (Read 8348 times)

jsgaede

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« on: December 24, 2014, 02:22:25 AM »

Can anyone point me in the direction of an IR to RF converter so my GEWA Prog can operate regular ole x10 modules?
 Thanks, Jeff
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2014, 06:36:57 AM »

You want to use an X10 IR command and convert it to X10 RF?
You do have a receiver that can transceive the RF command and send it on the power lines for an X10 module to be controlled.
Logged

joe s.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 194
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2015, 09:47:27 AM »

If you have X10 modules that you want to control, you can skip the X10 to RF conversion altogether and go direct from IR to X10 powerline control with this:

http://www.techmall.com/X10-IR-Command-Console-IR-543-p/28860.htm

I've never used one though....but it appears to be right for the job.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2015, 09:49:33 AM by joe s. »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2015, 10:00:45 AM »

The IR543 has been discontinued for a long time now.
Not sure if some of the Auction Sites may still have them but the X10 dealers all have them as "Out of Stock" or "Discontinued by the manufacturer"
Logged

joe s.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 194
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2015, 11:12:05 AM »

I see them on eBay from time to time.
Logged

fitbrit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 27
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2015, 02:57:27 AM »

I have three that I thought I would use, but never did. I got them at much higher prices than they originally sold for. I may be willing to part with one or two of them.
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 269
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2015, 01:25:23 AM »

Laser Business Systems in the UK still sells their IRAH kit to modify an IR543 (the US version, too) to work with all housecodes at once instead of just one, which adds even more value. I have used one for years and it's indispensable. With this and the Philips RFX6500 RF extender, my Pronto remote can control all my X10 devices from anywhere in the house.
Logged

fitbrit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 27
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2015, 10:59:56 PM »

Laser Business Systems in the UK still sells their IRAH kit to modify an IR543 (the US version, too) to work with all housecodes at once instead of just one, which adds even more value. I have used one for years and it's indispensable. With this and the Philips RFX6500 RF extender, my Pronto remote can control all my X10 devices from anywhere in the house.

I see next to no info on this on their website, although it's for sale. I am going to the UK next week, and may pick one up. Is it hard to install?
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 269
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2015, 03:25:01 PM »

I see next to no info on this on their website, although it's for sale. I am going to the UK next week, and may pick one up. Is it hard to install?

I don't have the instructions anymore, but it requires decent soldering skills.  I remember having to clip a couple of capacitors off the IR543 board and solder some leads from the IRAH daughterboard before mounting it into place.  It only took about 5 minutes, and it's all through-hole mount; no surface mount soldering.  The hardest part was closing the case back; it's a very tight fit!
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 269
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2015, 03:32:48 PM »

The IRAH also comes with a CD-ROM of Pronto configuration files so you can send all the new codes from your Pronto remote.  There are 16 new IR codes for all the house codes.  I had to tweak the hex codes for dim/bright also for my Boston A7RC/TSU501, but I think the old X10 dim/bright codes worked fine on my Pronto without tweaks.  Be warned that this was made for Pronto users.  It will work with other IR learning remotes, but you will need some way to get those IR codes into your remote, and you may need a Pronto to do that, as the IRAH doesn't come with its own remote!
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 269
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2015, 03:35:57 PM »

I found this nice review which tells most everything you'd want to know.  I had forgotten that you need to desolder the old microcontroller from the IR543 PCB, which is kind of a pain, so this installation isn't for novices!  It may have taken me more like 15 minutes.   ;)

http://www.hometoys.com/emagazine/2000/12/ir543ah-ir-device/208
Logged

fitbrit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 27
Re: IR to RF converter for GEWA Prog
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2015, 09:01:18 PM »

Thanks for the info, toasterking!
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.