Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered  (Read 5179 times)

bt54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« on: February 14, 2015, 03:59:30 PM »

I have a MS10A installed on a door frame.  When the door opens a macro turns on a light.  The macro works but there is a long delay between the signal being received and the macro triggering.  Anyone have any idea why the macro is taking so long to run???  I've attached the signal log.

MS10A - A1
L10 - Wall Switch
Logged
If it doesn't work get a BIGGER hammer!!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6840
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2015, 05:50:19 PM »

I have a MS10A installed on a door frame.  When the door opens a macro turns on a light.  The macro works but there is a long delay between the signal being received and the macro triggering.  Anyone have any idea why the macro is taking so long to run???  I've attached the signal log.

Please put a time frame to the "long" delay.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2015, 06:02:26 PM »

Are you using Active Home Pro with a CM15A or CM15K {CM19A with TM751}?
Do you have the On Alert plug in to process the DS10A messages or another device like a WGL module?
Do you know what sent the A1 RF Received message on line 469 of your attached file?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2015, 06:19:46 PM »

Post the macro!
It appears you have a door /window sensor attached to this door as well as the MS10a you shouldn't need both!
You can trigger the macro from a security sensor eliminating the MS10a
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

bt54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2015, 11:34:36 AM »

I've uploaded the Macro
Logged
If it doesn't work get a BIGGER hammer!!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2015, 11:48:15 AM »

You have posted a macro that trips with a door window sensor not a MS10A from  A1.
I also don't know why you have 3 repeating on commands to L10 (only 1 should be needed)
If you have another macro triggering L10 from A1 which from your original post it appears, then this is the reason for the long delay.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

bt54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2015, 03:08:36 PM »

Tuicemen,
This is the triggering macro.  I added the 3 repeats as the single command had the same delay problem.
Logged
If it doesn't work get a BIGGER hammer!!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2015, 06:47:21 PM »

I realize it is the triggering macro.
You stated the MS10a had A1 assigned to it, this can't be done with out a macro.
There is no mention of A1 in your macro.
And in your OP the activity log shows an A1 on/off received.
As Brian stated
Quote
Do you know what sent the A1 RF Received message on line 469 of your attached file?

To me it looks like you have not emptied the AHP recycle bin and there is a old macro which sends A1 on then off ??? ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2015, 11:13:07 AM »

Check the setting on the MS10a and be sure the slider switch is set to position 1
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Setting_Up_Motion_Sensors
If it is in position 2 you could get long delays before your macro actually fires, although this doesn't appear to be the cause looking at your activity log.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2480
    • davehouston.org
Re: MS10A - Long Delay Before Macro Triggered
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2015, 01:20:35 PM »

I'm not clear on whether there are multiple RF devices monitoring the same door. If so, and both are transmitting, their RF signals could be colliding with each other, causing unpredictable delays/failures.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.