Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Looking for X10 temperature controller  (Read 2515 times)

sbradley02

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Looking for X10 temperature controller
« on: June 14, 2015, 05:58:28 PM »

I want to control an X10 wall switch via temperature changes. In other words, turn the switch on until a certain temperature is reached, then turn turn it off, and turn back on with temperature rise.

Are there any single box or close to it solutions? What I have seen so far are pretty involved, using a computer to handle the control.
Thanks.
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 269
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2015, 07:09:34 PM »

This isn't really a single-box solution, but it may be about as close as you will get and it doesn't require a computer.

If you can find an old thermostat, the kind with mercury bulb switches, you could solder long wire leads to one of the mercury bulb switches and connect the other ends of those wires to the terminals on an X10 PowerFlash interface (model PSC01 or PF284).  On the PowerFlash, set the Input switch to A (dry contact) and the Mode switch to 3 (single unit) and set the House and Unit code dials to match those of the wall switch.  Set the thermostat dial to the desired threshold temperature.  If you are using the mercury bulb switch for heating, an ON command will be sent when the temperature falls below the set point and an OFF command will be sent when the temperature rises above the set point.  If you are using the mercury bulb switch for cooling, the commands are reversed.

Note that this kind of thermostat must be kept level; tilting it will offset the temperature set points and any jarring or vibration could affect its operation.  This kind of thermostat was very common until recently and most thermostats that use a mechanical sliding dial to set the temperature are set up like this.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2015, 11:19:28 AM »

They also make battery operated type Digital Thermostats. That have a relay in it. That type would also trigger a Powerflash module.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 12:43:47 PM by Brian H »
Logged

sbradley02

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2015, 01:22:39 PM »

Thanks, that is what I thought I would end up needing to do. There just doesn't seem to be a thermostat that natively outputs X10.
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1762
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2015, 01:26:27 PM »

There are Zwave and Insteon thermostats, but I've never seen X10.  I've never looked, but it's possible that those Insteon units might transmit X10.

sbradley02

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2015, 01:45:40 PM »

There are Zwave and Insteon thermostats, but I've never seen X10.  I've never looked, but it's possible that those Insteon units might transmit X10.
I saw some of those, but they all seemed to be geared towards remote control of the thermostat and not having the thermostat control a remote switch. If you have a reference for one that would do that would be interested in seeing it.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2498
    • davehouston.org
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2015, 02:01:58 PM »

There is (was?) an X10 wireless thermostat available in Europe - Digimax 210. It was fairly simple to modify for 310MHz but I do not recall whether it sent a signal compatible with an X10 switch/module.

It is described here. http://x10modules.com/shop/product_info.php?products_id=102

It needed a security console which relayed PLC commands to appliance modules.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 10:15:17 PM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

m82a1pa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 73
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2015, 09:40:48 PM »

There's this: http://www.smarthome.com/minotaur-engineering-vt1-x10-variable-temperature-sensor.html

It works with the still available PowerFlash unit.

The unit is really accurate, temperature wise.

Logged

sbradley02

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2015, 09:50:49 PM »

There's this: http://www.smarthome.com/minotaur-engineering-vt1-x10-variable-temperature-sensor.html

It works with the still available PowerFlash unit.

The unit is really accurate, temperature wise.

That looks interesting, but I think a thermostat would be a little easier to change settings on as desired. Thanks for the reference, good to have options.
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1762
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2015, 10:07:33 AM »

I remember there being some kind of thermostat that would transmit temperature by triggering different UC on a specific HC.  I can't remember what it was though, so I'm not sure how to find it again.  Maybe that was just the setback controller.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2015, 01:42:03 PM »

You maybe thinking of the RCS TXB15 and TXB16.
They used X10 signaling to set things and read back temperatures.
http://www.rcstechnology.com/oldsite/products/stats/x10.htm

I believe they normally did not directly control X10 modules. A controller sent, received and decoded the temperature from the House and Unit codes.
There are protocol charts on the above linked web page.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2015, 01:44:00 PM by Brian H »
Logged

sbradley02

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2015, 03:49:20 PM »

Decided to go ahead and order. Also found this post:
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=22762.0

Getting that thermostat, the powerflash and a 20A switch.
If anyone is interested will let you know how it works out.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2015, 07:01:32 PM by sbradley02 »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Looking for X10 temperature controller
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2015, 06:29:25 PM »

Let us know how it works out for you.

Forgot to ask. Exactly what is the 20 amp {WS13A or XPS3} switch going to be connected to?
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 06:17:10 AM by Brian H »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.