Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Outlet + LED rope light  (Read 3343 times)

bkenobi

• PI Expert
  • Helpful Post Rating: 24
Outlet + LED rope light
« on: September 08, 2015, 11:07:48 AM »

I have several incandescent rope lights under cabinets in my kitchen each controlled by a lamp module.  One just length burned out partially, so I'm going to replace it with a similar light.  Since the outlets are horizontal pointing down for a couple of these, the modules look like they will eventually fall out (though they never do).  I am thinking of replacing these two lamp modules with either SR227 outlet modules or possibly Insteon Outlet Linc modules.  I have several of both and they work perfectly with standard incandescent loads and even fluorescent shop lights.  However, does anyone know if they will work correctly with LED rope lights?  I have no experience with LED lighting and I know at some point the incandescent will become hard to find, so I'm thinking I should plan ahead rather than improving the installation to have a problem down the road.

joe s.

• Helpful Post Rating: 4
Re: Outlet + LED rope light
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 03:52:06 PM »

Believe it on not, my total MIS-APPLICATION of X10 camera supplies powering my under-counter LED strips are still working perfectly fine after nearly two years (max length of LED strip is just 3ft in my case - if you need more, they might not have enough horsepower).  Even though they are clearly under-spec (compared to the wall warts supplied with my LED strips) - they simply continue to work!

I have only seen LED strips that come with a supplied wall wart - so this solution seemed like an "elegant" (albeit flakey) idea to replace them with a X10 addressable wart!