Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.

Author Topic: Question on alarm system  (Read 3598 times)

ramhouse

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Question on alarm system
« on: January 17, 2016, 04:23:48 PM »

Have a ds 7000 system, set the alarm and left the house and 2 hours later the alarm went off, question is will the alarm go off if a power outage happens, found out that the power had went out at about that time, the battery lite never went on that it was low on the console, has this happened to anybody.the console registered that #1 sensor picked up something, but it has good batteries, I have had this system for 5 yrs and have never had this happen, I did change the battery in the console anyway.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 235
  • Posts: 6674
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Question on alarm system
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 09:50:36 AM »

You don't say what the #1 sensor was or where it was mounted.
Was it a motion sensor? These will see small rodents.

I've never had the console trip from a power outage
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

ramhouse

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Question on alarm system
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2016, 01:05:06 PM »

the motion sensor is mounted on a wall about 6' high and is in line of sight, the batteries are new, the reason that i think it could be the power outage is that the times are pretty close as to when the power went out and when i received the alarm call give or take a few minutes
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 235
  • Posts: 6674
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Question on alarm system
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2016, 02:14:56 PM »

Do you know what caused the power outage?
Was it just a power blip ?
Or was the power out for some period of time?

I found the motion sensors were always triggering the alarm at my off grid place so I removed them from my setup.
Being the house was log there was movement with settling so I assumed that was the reason in my case.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

ramhouse

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Question on alarm system
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2016, 04:12:39 PM »

power was out for about 15-20 minutes maybe, I,ve had these sensors for 5 plus yrs never had a problem with them the only thing that happened that day was the outage
Logged

SherlW

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Question on alarm system
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2017, 07:37:44 AM »

What type of alarm you are using, wired or wireless? That is common for wireless cameras.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 12020
Re: Question on alarm system
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2017, 08:22:57 AM »

All the security sensors have to check in the the DS7000. At about a 60 minute interval.
If the console does not see a check in in about four hours. That may have contributed to the problem.
 Was it Zone LED flashing slowly?
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.