Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Too many PM5900's not good?  (Read 11411 times)

70shovelhead

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Too many PM5900's not good?
« on: February 22, 2016, 10:41:55 AM »

Hello everyone. Newbie here so please be gentle....anyway we just remodeled the house and I built 2 new media closets to house the DVR/Satellite, surround sound and DVD player in the living room and the master bedroom. After shopping around I purchased the X10 PM5900 to control the devices in the living room media closet. Works perfect and haven't had any problems. Then after completing installation of the master bedroom devices( DVR/satellite, and DVD) I purchased another PM5900 to control these devices. Now the problem is when I operate the remote in the bedroom to control that system the TV in the living room also reacts to the bedroom remote. For example when we go to bed at night and have turned off all devices in the living room media closet and the TV is off, when I turn on the bedroom TV the living room TV also turns back on. I have tried relocating the 5900 transmitter but nothing changes. The two media closets are about 50' from each other as the crow flies.
So....is there any solution to this problem ie. is it possible to change frequency of the transmitter? Do I need to incorporate an RX569. If so how? Reaching out here and what a great site!!

70shovelhead
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2282
    • davehouston.org
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 10:53:36 AM »

I have no clue about the innards of current Powermids.

If they have separate RF transmitter modules (within the transmitter unit) and receiver modules (within the receiver unit) then changing the frequency is possible by replacing these units. The Powermids use 418MHz (unless newer ones have changed).

Are there FCC ID numbers on the units? If so we might find schematics and internal photos that will answer the critical questions. Otherwise, you'll need to open them up which might void any warranty you may have.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 12:50:42 PM »

Sounds like you have the same brand entertainment devices in both locations.
Since the Powermids use RF to talk to each other It may be possible to block the RF from reaching the other powermids in the oposite location.

Since metal objects will reduce the range of a RF signal I'd try some aluminum foil or some large metal between the line of sight of the two transmiters and oposite receivers.
This may take some experimenting with transmiter and or receiver locations as well as the metal signal blocker
The RX569 may help in this instance as it might allow you to get one of the receivers out of the line of sight of the offending transmiter.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 284
  • Posts: 12343
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 03:46:37 PM »

I checked the FCC Database.
Both the Transmitter B4SST539 and Receiver B4SRE549 are there but there is no publicly accessible data. Just the frequency of 418MHz is listed.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2282
    • davehouston.org
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2016, 04:10:14 PM »

There are 315MHz & 433.92MHz (as well as other frequencies) transmitters and receivers readily available and reasonably priced but they will be of no use if X10 integrated these functions into SMD PCBs. And, even separate through-hole modules require some DIY abilities and soldering skills.

And, I suspect trying to erect a shield will be both time consuming and futile.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

70shovelhead

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2016, 09:34:53 AM »

Thanks for the replies. I have made several adjustments in placement of the transmitter, antenna, shielding material between the transmitter in the bedroom and the receiver in the living room media closet with no change. What is strange about this whole thing is that the remote that is causing this problem is a directv remote programed for an Olevia TV (bedroom) and it is turning on and off a Samsung smart TV (living room) B:(.
So I am going to try a Sewell IR blaster that works through the HDMI cable (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CA7EKHK?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00). This looks like an easy fix for the bedroom system since the media equipment is located on the other side of the wall from the tv and is accessible through a wall port I installed. Again thanks for the input. :)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2016, 09:43:12 AM »

Have you tried the factory remote for the Olevia TV to see if it too has the same effect?
Can different codes for devices be programed into the directv remote (entered with keypad) or is it a learning type?
If it is possible to enter different codes try others as some codes overlap with other brands of devices.

Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2282
    • davehouston.org
Re: Too many PM5900's not good?
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2016, 10:28:01 AM »

So I am going to try a Sewell IR blaster that works through the HDMI cable...

That does look like a fix. Let us know how things work out.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.