Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Problems with New X10 Install  (Read 35 times)

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Problems with New X10 Install
« on: April 18, 2019, 07:30:43 PM »

Hi all.
I have been using X-10 for about 30 years and I've been quite happy with it.
I have it hooked up to 4 pairs of dual Sylvania halogen flood flights (outside of course).
I've had the odd problem but nothing to really speak of.

We did some renovations last year and the electrical for the new outside flood lights was just completed.
1 of the new pairs (3 in all) was moved about 10 feet to one new structure and one was moved about 6 feet
to the front of the new garage.
The 3rd pair are new and are on a separate circuit above the side door of the new garage (AFCI).

The first 2 pair don't respond at all to my remote, although they do respond to the push button on the WS467 wall switch.
The 3rd pair turn on but won't turn off by remote.

I use a T751 transceiver and an HR-12A remote.

It is possible that the WS467 controlling the first 2 pair might be faulty. It is 30 years old and was moved from one side of the Mud Room to the other.

I tried the clothes dryer trick as a Bridge but that didn't help the first 2 pairs.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

« Last Edit: Today at 07:36:53 AM by gdmaclew »
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 31
  • Posts: 486
Re: Problems with New X10 Install
« Reply #1 on: Today at 01:12:17 AM »

There are a number of possibilities but first a read of the Jeff's troubleshooting page would be a good start. See: http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12631
Re: Problems with New X10 Install
« Reply #2 on: Today at 06:15:24 AM »

Jeff's tutorials are great. They should give you some help finding X10 communications issues.

What bridge trick did you use? If it is just a capacitor across the two AC lines. Most times it is not very effective and sometimes dangerous. If the capacitor is not rated for across an AC power line use.

One of the tests you may want to try. Is moving the TM751 around to different locations and circuits in the home. Then try the HR12A to see if the two switches can be controlled. It is very possible the rewiring moved the switches to a the other Line or they are now on a circuit with signal suckers or power line noise makers.

The Cadillac of X10 signal repeaters is Jeff's  XTB-IIR. It  blasts an X10 signal to the system.
« Last Edit: Today at 07:10:43 AM by Brian H »
Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Problems with New X10 Install
« Reply #3 on: Today at 07:35:29 AM »


What bridge trick did you use? If it is just a capacitor across the two AC lines. Most times it is not very effective and sometimes dangerous. If the capacitor is not rated for across an AC power line use.

One of the tests you may want to try. Is moving the TM751 around to different locations and circuits in the home. Then try the HR12A to see if the two switches can be controlled. It is very possible the rewiring moved the switches to a the other Line or they are now on a circuit with signal suckers or power line noise makers.

The Cadillac of X10 signal repeaters is Jeff's  XTB-IIR. It  blasts an X10 signal to the system.

I read somewhere that if you just "turn on" the clothes dryer or oven, that you are effectively "bridging" the two phases.
Did I understand it wrong?

I will try to move the transceiver and see what results I get.
If that doesn't work I'll change out the switch over the weekend.

Where can I get Jeff's XTB-IIR?
Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Problems with New X10 Install
« Reply #4 on: Today at 07:36:16 AM »

There are a number of possibilities but first a read of the Jeff's troubleshooting page would be a good start. See: http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm

I will definitely read Jeff's tips.
Thanks.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.