Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: SC1200 dialer does not work when in parallel to a phone  (Read 1079 times)

GPL

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
SC1200 dialer does not work when in parallel to a phone
« on: July 10, 2016, 12:47:29 PM »

Hi,

When I install my SC1200 in my DSL line in parallel to my cordless phone the panel dialer, in case of an alarm, does not work. When I take out the phone and leave the SC1200 alone, its dialer works fine. Both SC1200 and phone are on a DSL filter.
Do you know what the problem is and how can I resolve it?

Thanks
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 12176
Re: SC1200 dialer does not work when in parallel to a phone
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2016, 01:38:57 PM »

Is your DSL on a standard {POTS} copper phone line or a gateway used to provide phone service from a cable company or other internet access method?

It is also possible the DSL filter is starting to fail and the voltage at the SC1200 is low enough to think the line is off hook. As the cordless phone maybe using a small amount of current when connected.
If you have a spare DSL filter you may want to try it.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2016, 01:43:14 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7167
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: SC1200 dialer does not work when in parallel to a phone
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2016, 05:08:00 PM »

When the cordless phone is connected does the sc1200 even see a alarm trip condition from your sensors?
Have you tried changing the RF channel on the phone if it has that option?
The filters I have suggest only one device per filter, if both are on the same filter you may wish to try each on their own.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

GPL

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: SC1200 dialer does not work when in parallel to a phone
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2016, 02:40:11 PM »

Thank you for your answers
I replace the DSL filter and works fine now.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • Posts: 12176
Re: SC1200 dialer does not work when in parallel to a phone
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2016, 03:31:15 PM »

You are welcome.
Sounds like the DSL Filter may have been going bad.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.