Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20]

Author Topic: Automation with Alexa  (Read 22674 times)

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #285 on: December 13, 2017, 09:36:19 PM »

Amazon delivered an Alexa echo remote today ($29). It was an impulse buy on my part (just the other day) while ordering a Christmas gift. I hadn't seriously considered one before... mostly because I wasn't sure what it did/does. Basically... it's a Amazon remote... for use with the echo. It will allow me to control volume and play lists (music) played over an echo. But it does more.

The remote uses Bluetooth to pair with any (except the TAP) echo device. Then by pushing the microphone button.... it will transfer my voice to the echo (I used a DOT) device. Where it really excels is in a loud, noisy environment.... like in my Home Theater or in just about any room in the house during the holidays and everyone is here.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2017, 11:50:39 PM by HA Dave »
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7192
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #286 on: December 14, 2017, 05:34:49 PM »

I had read a while back where Amazon and Microsoft were in talks to combine Alexa and Cortana's abilities.
So try this: Say "Alexa ,Hey Cortana!" 
It looks like the talks haven't stalled! :)%
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #287 on: December 15, 2017, 12:04:17 AM »

I had read a while back where Amazon and Microsoft were in talks to combine Alexa and Cortana's abilities.
So try this: Say "Alexa ,Hey Cortana!" 
It looks like the talks haven't stalled! :)%

Cool. It would be nice is Siri would relay messages to Alexa for me.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2017, 12:08:06 AM by HA Dave »
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7192
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #288 on: January 19, 2018, 01:15:09 PM »

It looks like after a recent Alexa update many of us will need to rename our devices. B:(
It is now recommended not to add room names to the device. ::) :'
if so you could get the "I'm sorry several devices share that name ,which one did you want?" reply
I've started to get that with the lamp I called livingroom lamp, I haven't got it for office light (yet)
interestingly I do have a couple lights in my livingroom but I do not have a room configured in Alexa called livingroom. B:(
Also the lamp is the only one with livingroom in the name.

So now Alexa has issues with room or numbers in device names :o B:(
« Last Edit: January 19, 2018, 01:16:40 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #289 on: January 19, 2018, 04:44:26 PM »

It looks like after a recent Alexa update many of us will need to rename our devices. B:(
It is now recommended not to add room names to the device. ::) :'

More of a reason to adjust the letter space to 22 letters.
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #290 on: January 21, 2018, 09:30:02 AM »

Was looking at the "Scenes" section of the Amazon app. Interestingly.... it searched my hubs for "Scenes". Of course without X10 WM100 WiFi HUB being on-line... without a skill as of yet... X10 "Scenes" weren't discoverable (not that I've created any yet). But it looks like real possibilities are just around the corner.
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #291 on: January 21, 2018, 10:19:10 AM »

Thought this was funny:

https://youtu.be/JepKVUym9Fg
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 132
  • Posts: 5694
Re: Automation with Alexa
« Reply #292 on: January 21, 2018, 01:37:52 PM »

Thought this was funny:

https://youtu.be/JepKVUym9Fg
Well, I should have donned a Depends before watching that. Hilarious!
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.