Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14]

Author Topic: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)  (Read 30524 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7717
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #195 on: February 09, 2018, 04:52:11 AM »

foghorn2,
Thanks for bringing the malware issue up. it led me to having my site scanned and cleaned which wasn't cheap.
no issues were found (or so I was told) ::) :'
I also did independent online scans of both the old .com and new .net domains which also reported no malware or suspisous activity.
I also did a complete download of the site and did a malware scan offline with no threats detected.
Interestingly I do have a PC with a new windows 10 install and defender doesn't see Alex10 as a threat.
So I'm at a loss here. ::) :'
I'm open to any suggestions at this point.

At least you system seems to be now free of strange occurrences.
Out of curiosity did you scan your PC with any other Malware or antivirus tools?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Doc62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #196 on: February 09, 2018, 10:13:14 AM »

Hi Tuicemen,

I've just purchased a Dot v2 and its now controlling my X10 perfectly.


Now its working, are there some con.fig. files that can be copied, as a form of backup. So I don't need to install the devices into another instance of Alex10/HA-Bridge.

Regards
Logged

Doc62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #197 on: February 09, 2018, 10:43:15 AM »

I think I may have answered this myself...
Is it both the 'data' & 'scripts' folders ?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7717
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #198 on: February 09, 2018, 10:47:32 AM »

Yep if i remember The bridge will make a backup of things(not alex10 stuff) as well Alex10  will make backups from the advanced setup screne.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Doc62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #199 on: February 16, 2018, 08:49:22 AM »

Here I go again…
This is just so good, that I’ve purchased another Echo Dot and it’s been added as a second device to my Amazon Alexa account. But when given a command Alexa replies with “ ‘device name’ isn’t responding”, the first Echo continues to work fine.
Have I got carried away with my Dots or have I missed something else?

Regards
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7717
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #200 on: February 16, 2018, 08:51:58 AM »

Did you tell that dot to discover devices?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Doc62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #201 on: February 16, 2018, 09:07:31 AM »

No, the 'Smart Home' 'Devices' appear to be at Amazon account level and all my 13 X10 devices are listed.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7717
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #202 on: February 16, 2018, 09:22:43 AM »

Each device has to discover your devices which they will eventualy on their own but untill they see them they cant be controled.telling each echo  to discover devices forces them to see them.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Doc62

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #203 on: February 16, 2018, 09:55:02 AM »

Thanks again for your time.
Initially I only had one Echo switched on at a time. 1st Echo worked fine. Unplugged 1st and plugged in 2nd, which couldn’t find devices. Unplugged 2nd, plug in 1st, worked fine. Unplugged 1st, plugged in 2nd, click ‘Discover devices’, still couldn’t find devices. Plug in 1st and the 2nd works fine. Just unplugged 1st and 2nd couldn’t find devices. So it looks like the 1st needs to be connected.

Regards
   
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7717
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #204 on: February 16, 2018, 11:41:37 AM »

The first should not need to be powered up for the second to see devices. B:(
However it is possible Amazon has changed something with recent updates ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7717
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #205 on: March 09, 2018, 09:07:45 AM »

Since Broadlink RM support was added to the HA-Bridge, Alex10 required a bit of rework to display status of these devices clearer.
A new version off Alex10 is now on the server which includes the new HA-Bridge and SmartCloud versions.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.