Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: UR74A Not Operating Lights  (Read 1095 times)

Squirrel1162

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 70
UR74A Not Operating Lights
« on: April 18, 2017, 06:48:15 PM »

After almost 6 years of flawless operation, all of a sudden,  my UR74A remote controller doesn't work .  At first, I thought that maybe the batteries in it were old and weak.  I replaced them with the same results.  Then I deleted and re-wrote my rooms and macros.  Again, the same results.  Don't know what's wrong at this point.  Could the remote have "GIVEN UP"?  BTW, I also removed the batteries in the transceiver and downloaded the macros, etc. to it too.

I want to thank, in advance, everyone who responds with help to my inquiry.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9435
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2017, 07:34:53 PM »

When you say it doesn't work, do you mean you can't control just your X10 setup or your entertainment devices as well?
The wiki may provide some helpful info
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/UR74A
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2483
    • davehouston.org
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2017, 07:47:18 PM »

Does it operate the relay in your transceiver? This uses a direct RF link so if it doesn't work the remote is probably kaput.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2483
    • davehouston.org
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2017, 09:06:20 PM »

BTW, I also removed the batteries in the transceiver and downloaded the macros, etc. to it too.
I guess this means your transceiver is a CM15A which renders my previous post nonsensical.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Squirrel1162

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 70
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2017, 10:09:18 PM »

Does it operate the relay in your transceiver? This uses a direct RF link so if it doesn't work the remote is probably kaput.


I apologize for not being more specific.  The day before yesterday (Easter Sunday), the Learning Remote Control UR74A was working like a charm.  The next day, it worked well, one time, then quit working all together.  I can control all my lights in the 3 rooms I have them set up in (I live in a small apartment) via my laptop PC, but not by the remote.  The lights work great (having problem with bathroom lights (but will address that at another time))!  The macros turn on/off the lights as I have programed them.  Just can't turn them on/off with the remote.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12678
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2017, 06:56:41 AM »

If you where not using the factory default House and Unit codes.
Frequently when batteries are changed. An X10 remote resets to the default settings.
Logged

Squirrel1162

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 70
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2017, 05:05:25 AM »

 :)%

I found another UR74A remote I had forgotten I had.  I put fresh batteries in it and, voila!  I have remote control of my system again!  Now I am thinking that the other remote just went to that big AHP repair shop in the sky.   :D  Thanks for your input.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12678
Re: UR74A Not Operating Lights
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2017, 06:15:13 AM »

I am glad your tests found the issue.
It does sound like the original one is now in the X10 grave yard.

« Last Edit: April 26, 2017, 08:20:10 AM by Brian H »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.