Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Help with suggestions for my application (Ext. Garage Lighting)  (Read 1934 times)

Afrowookie

• Helpful Post Rating: 0

Hi all,

I am a newbie in this area of X10 products but they do intrigue me and am looking for the proper product(s) for my specific application.

Problem:

I have a detached garage with the Exterior set of lights that do not work and haven't since I moved into the house.  The wiring goes from the garage to my house where it is controlled by a simple light switch at the front entrance.  I have tried tracing wires and replacing switches/receptacles to no avail, the wires are all hidden in the walls/ceilings, and goes underground to the garage and cannot find the issue no matter what I try.  Basically there is no power going to these lights.

So instead of spending anymore of my time and money trying to fix this problem, I came upon these X10 products and I think it might solve my problem.

What I want to achieve:

Is to just have these ext garage lights working.  I think I can get power to these lights by connecting to an existing receptacle in the garage, however if I do this then the lights would continuously stay on.  I would like to get these lights to work but be able to control them from my house.

What can I do this with these products?  What do I need exactly to achieve my goal?  I have seen other wireless switches but a lot of them are wifi/bluetooth, I just want a straight up switch like application but controlled from the house.

Thanks.

BackAgain

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
Re: Help with suggestions for my application (Ext. Garage Lighting)
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2017, 05:35:21 AM »

If there is power to the outlets in the garage, there should be power to the lights.  It would be very unusual to have two different runs from the house to the garage.  But anything is possible, I guess.