Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

Author Topic: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub  (Read 22731 times)

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #75 on: July 24, 2017, 08:30:50 AM »

Mine doesn't have one printed on it  :(
It's 2ACDZ RM3 but there's little to no information at the FCC - no schematic - frequencies listed as 315 & 433 MHz. The internal photos do not show any discrete RF transmitters so I suspect the frequency is software defined. The internal photo resolution is too coarse to read the labels on the ICs.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 08:46:20 AM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9488
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #76 on: July 24, 2017, 08:50:19 AM »

Your correct on the number, I swear fine print keeps getting finer! rofl
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #77 on: July 24, 2017, 09:02:08 AM »

Your correct on the number, I swear fine print keeps getting finer! rofl
This comes in handy.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00524H8MC/ref=crt_ewc_title_gw_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER
I even gave one to the doctor I was seeing for the open wound on my ankle. During one of my visits he sent his nurse to find a flashlight so on my next visit I gave him one of the above. He now carries it in his lab coat so it's always at hand.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9488
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #78 on: July 24, 2017, 09:06:29 AM »

I actually have one of those but couldn't see the FCC id last night B:(
Used my phone and zoomed to full before I could read the print this morning :-[
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12719
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #79 on: July 24, 2017, 10:58:29 AM »

Don't feel bad.
I copied the FCC ID; plainly readable digits in the post and I reversed two digits.  B:(

After I got it straight.
I had a time finding it. The FCC went to a five digit Grantee Number.
Grantee 2ACDZ
There are three entries. Only difference I could see was which RF Test Report was in it.
The 315MHz and 433MHz. There is also a 2414MHz-2462MHz WiFi.
The internal photos do show a 315MHZ-433MHz antenna area and a WiFi area on the PCB.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #80 on: July 24, 2017, 11:42:56 AM »

The internal photos do show a 315MHZ-433MHz antenna area and a WiFi area on the PCB.
And that 315MHZ-433MHz antenna appears to connect to the smallest of the three ICs bolstering my opinion that the frequencies are software defined.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 11:47:18 AM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

juanka

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 20
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #81 on: July 24, 2017, 02:15:31 PM »

Here is the FCC ID:

https://fccid.io/2ACDZRM3
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #82 on: July 24, 2017, 03:08:43 PM »

I just noticed the solderpads at the edge of the PCB. Frequently, such pads allow updating/replacing the firmware.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12719
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #83 on: July 24, 2017, 03:49:48 PM »

The row of 5 pads could very well be for programming.
The Insteon modules have a firmware programming connector. Looks just like the one in the internal photos.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #84 on: July 24, 2017, 04:35:32 PM »

The Insteon modules have a firmware programming connector.
As do most ESP8266/ESP32 based devices.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #85 on: July 25, 2017, 09:08:11 PM »

The Broadlink RM Pro is potentially an extremely powerful piece of hardware. It has a Marvell 88MC200 Arm Cortex CPU, a Marvell 88W8801 ARM SoC WiFi Controller and a Silicon Labs Si4463 RF Transceiver which can handle 1421050 MHz. Now, if only Broadlink would release an API or some of the nerds who sussed out the details of the ESP8266 would apply their talents to it.
http://www.marvell.com/microcontrollers/88MC200/
http://www.marvell.com/microcontrollers/wi-fi-microcontroller-platform/wi-fi/
www.silabs.com/documents/public/data-sheets/Si4464-63-61-60.pdf
« Last Edit: July 26, 2017, 07:45:46 AM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1754
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #86 on: July 26, 2017, 11:15:00 AM »

Can the Broadlink RM Pro receive RF as well as transmit?  I had a project that was intended to use a ESP8266 to receive and decode a bunch of sensors.  While it worked in testing, it did not work stable enough to deploy.  I think the issue was related to the RF module I chose and I could never get the RFM69 code to work on the Arduino ESP library.  If the Broadlink could read and do the decoding, I'd snap one up in a heartbeat!  Well, that's assuming everything can be done locally rather than using IFTTT (that is a neat service, but I just want it local).

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #87 on: July 26, 2017, 11:54:19 AM »

Can the Broadlink RM Pro receive RF as well as transmit?
Yes, but...
While the Silicone Labs Si4463 RF Transceiver can transmit & receive frequencies from 119 to 1050 MHz and handle FSK, OOK, etc., it operates here under the control of the Marvell 88MC200 so until Broadlink releases a comprehensive API or some army of nerds publishes methods for reprogramming the 88MC200 the Broadlink RM Pro can only do what Broadlink has programmed it to do.

The Silicone Labs datasheet for the Si4463 says...
Quote
The devices are highly flexible and can be configured via the Wireless Development Suite (WDS) available on the Silicon Labs web site.

There's documentation available for the 88MC200 as well but the 88W8801 WiFi chip requires an NDA.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2017, 12:05:35 PM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1754
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #88 on: July 26, 2017, 01:52:58 PM »

So if I wanted to add a sensor that isn't already included, is that possible?  I have a weather station, a few thermohygrometers, and a BlueLine power monitor that are all 433MHz.  I know how to decode the packets and what defines a packet.  The question is whether there's a way to add that to the Broadlink or if I rely on devs to provide the skill on Amazon or something.  I want to be able to read the signals and send them to my HA system in some form (MQTT, web server with the info that the HA pulls from, etc).

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2494
    • davehouston.org
Re: X10 with Alexa using the "Broadlink RM Pro" hub
« Reply #89 on: July 26, 2017, 02:43:54 PM »

No, there's no way to add anything along the lines of what you need. Also, while the RF Transceiver chip can handle a wide frequency range, it's only listening when told to learn a new code (and only in limited frequency bands at present).

Maybe someone at http://hackaday.com/ will notice the potential of the RM Pro and trigger an avalanche of projects like happened with the ESP8266.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2017, 02:45:57 PM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 9
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.