Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Preparing for the inevitable system crash  (Read 1322 times)

Geewiz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 115
Preparing for the inevitable system crash
« on: July 31, 2017, 06:53:34 PM »

I've had AHP Pro running solidly on a dedicated server for years now, and have recently added Tuiceman's wonderful Alex 10 addon.   Everything is working really well.  So much so that I hardly ever have to tweak, or pay any attention to my automation setup.

This has me worried.  How can I best prepare for the inevitable system crash.  I am so far out of the loop with X-10 that I'm not even sure there is a way to do a clean install of AHP Pro from scratch any more.

I've tried searching on this subject and feel it must have been covered somewhere. 

What is the best way to prepare for the eventual need to re-install my set up with a minimum of hassle.

Thank you for any guidance!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12482
Re: Preparing for the inevitable system crash
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 07:45:31 PM »

Well there is a way to do a fresh AHP install.
Since the X10 registration servers are gone.
Tuicemen's Life Jacket can do it.

http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28994.0
Logged

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6559
Re: Preparing for the inevitable system crash
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2017, 12:52:40 AM »

... Everything is working really well.... This has me worried.

What is the best way to prepare for the eventual need to re-install my set up with a minimum of hassle.

I've read so many of those... "everything was working great now nothing is working" posts. They used to worry me too. I've thought the same thing you posted. I think I know how you feel.

And now.... my system is even more complex as I merged other brands/flavors of Home Automation devices most under voice control by Amazons Alexa. Plus two CM15a's and a PC running AHP (and BVC). I can't imagine the entire Home Automation set-up failing. Parts would certainly continue to run. Of course a power outage would shut me down. Or a cable (or even a router) outage that took me off-line would be difficult.... no TV, no Internet, no cloud. Still.... not everything would be effected.

When I originally set-up my X10 I used the letter codes to indicate function or location. "C" was for cameras. I no longer use X10 cameras. The letter assignments now seem messy. I've given some thought to "reconstructing" my entire set-up. I'd clean-up the letter assignments... maybe rewrite some macros or even eliminate some functions. I've given great thought to removing my one (I was using two) Home Automation laptop. Then replace it with one of those mini cube or USB stick/dongle computers.

It would be fun to "reinvent" my entire HA set-up. I might even move the devices to a more centralized area. But I no longer worry about re-doing my set-up. I think about what I might add or change or do differently.
Logged
If X10 doesn't jump on the AI band wagon soon...
...there ain't going to be no X10 dance! 

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 255
  • Posts: 8393
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Preparing for the inevitable system crash
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2017, 07:01:55 AM »

Right from day one I dreaded the thought of having to rebuild my Home Automation setup.
Making backups of your configuration files is the key, software can always be reinstalled (usually hassle free).
I placed a copy of my entire setup on a USB stick to move from one PC to another so I have setups on a couple of Laptops and a PC as well as on a USB stick.

When X10 WTI went belly up reinstalling AHP became a issue. Several of us attempted to get AHP to install without the registration nags. Installing the European version was the easiest solution but not the best.
I created a North American AHP installer but it still had the registration nags  ::) :'
As Brian pointed out the AHP-Lifejacket program will help remove the nags.

The key to retaining all your setup info for AHP and still have all plugins you now enjoy is :
1: Backup your x10prod.sys file found in C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10
2: Backup your ahx files found in C:\Program Files (x86)\ActiveHome Pro some have several
3: Take note of your Drive ID save this into a text file and keep with above files
The files you need to back up are mentioned as well in the AHP-Lifejacket thread.

Since you also run Alex10 backup the files in the Alex10 data folder.
 ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6559
Re: Preparing for the inevitable system crash
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2017, 11:17:26 AM »

... Making backups of your configuration files is the key....

When X10 WTI went belly up reinstalling AHP became a issue.....I created a North American AHP installer but it still had the registration nags  ::) :'
As Brian pointed out the AHP-Lifejacket program will help remove the nags.

The key to retaining all your setup info for AHP and still have all plugins you now enjoy is :
1: Backup your x10prod.sys file found in C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10
2: Backup your ahx files found in C:\Program Files (x86)\ActiveHome Pro some have several
3: Take note of your Drive ID save this into a text file and keep with above files
The files you need to back up are mentioned as well in the AHP-Lifejacket thread.

Good advice! I have AHP on two laptops as well as two PC's. Yet.... I've given some thought to creating a system based on your lifejacket creation. Just to be sure. I' think I'll back-up those files today.

But... I think... using the [Homeseer] Hometroller S2 along with my other hubs might be enough. Particularly if X10 was to produce a new controller/device. If X10 doesn't... stay in the game... my system will depend on X10's use in automation less and less.

Your work-around is great. But we also need more from X10.

Years ago.... a lighting strike devastated big parts of my automation. It was heartbreaking. If the same happened today... the system I would create might not look nearly the same as the system I have today. HA is evolving. Particularly with Alexa becoming more central to set-ups.

There was a time..... when showing off my set-up meant using a palmpad and turning lights on and off. Then later... I advanced to turning lights on and off (and getting weather reports) using BVC with a voice command.

Now... I ask Alexa to make an appointment (and a reminder) on my calendar... and show it on my phone instantly. Then I ask Alexa to play something obscure like... Pink Floyd's Dark side of the moon.

And my own tastes in automation (and what I expect HA to do) has changed too. X10 needs to be more forward-looking. HA is cutting technology by its nature. All systems fail sooner or later. We need new X10 stuff if we're expected to keep coming back.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 11:28:07 AM by HA Dave »
Logged
If X10 doesn't jump on the AI band wagon soon...
...there ain't going to be no X10 dance! 

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 255
  • Posts: 8393
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Preparing for the inevitable system crash
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2017, 12:05:10 PM »

X10 needs to be more forward-looking. HA is cutting technology by its nature. All systems fail sooner or later. We need new X10 stuff if we're expected to keep coming back.
I couldn't agree more! Authinx has been working on the Wi-Fi hub for far to long. and this has delayed other products and improvements slated to older modules.
The fact that that the factory put out a simular package (Wijits) is a sign the hardware is very close if not already done.
However Wijit uses RF not PLC.
The same developer(currently) that created the Wijit app I'm told is working on the X10 Wi-Fi app.
If the X10 app is anything like the Wijit app then I understand the delay. The app is crap, even with its latest update.
Even the app I Alfa tested with the first gen wi-fi prototype was better then the wijit app. B:(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.