Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.

Author Topic: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?  (Read 169 times)

LAF

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« on: September 12, 2017, 04:48:22 PM »

I have a number of Door Window Sensors (DS10A) which I would like to make use of but the security stuff needs the PC to be on to operate.  Was wondering if a tablet running Win 8.1 or 10 (such as the Insignia Flex 8") would work instead?

Any advice appreciated...  :)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 6719
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2017, 06:29:07 PM »

In short Yes it would work!

I've been running low power PCs for a few years now
One HP thin client I've upgraded to windows 10 from XP.
I also upgraded a Asus eebox from XP to win 10
These low power PCs can be found on ebay fairly cheap, and perform well for running HA.
Since your really don't need a display except for setup they may be better suited then a tablet.
I've mine hooked to my TV aux input so I can view if needed. I also use the HP as a video streaming device for Netflix and a bridge for Amazon Alexa control.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 6719
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 07:43:37 PM »

I actually have a section on my forum dedicated to low power PCs
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?board=60.0
In the section  Android TV sticks are also looked at for for running Home automation.
There currently isn't a thread for tablets but if someone wishes to start one it would be welcomed ;)
When x10 WTI introduced the Airpad tablets I grabbed one thinking they were moving to create something for them.
Sadly that never happened. :(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

LAF

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 10:46:02 PM »

Thanks for the info Tuicemmen.  In regards to the Insignia Flex, I wonder if the charging system is capable of keeping the device powered under continuous operation.  I dunno, maybe these devices are not designed for continuous operation in the first place(?). 

I like the tablet route as it has a screen and can be had for only $80 but maybe a low powered PC as you suggest would be more appropriate.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 6719
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2017, 07:31:43 AM »

I did play with HA using my air pad tablet but like a large screen when I'm doing a setup or attempting to debug.
A tablet is nice as they can be used as a touch control panel.

Both my low power PCs I got off ebay for under $50 and are mounted behind flat panel TVs.
My forum has a post on how I modified the HP to hold a larger SSD Drive.
I use wireless keyboard and mouse for both and run Netflix and a couple other streaming services + AHP, Alex10, PC Companion, and HA Bridge on the HP
The HP has slowed since adding Alex10 and Ha-Bridge but that's only during setups the drive is very full and streaming still works on this old PC.
The sound comes through the TV but only if set to aux input. This can be distracting if the security system triggers sound macros during a streaming session.

Both only have 4 gigs of mem and that is their max. A newer low power PC with more mem and faster CPU would perform better for streaming.


Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

LAF

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 04:25:08 PM »

Discovered a potential problem with use of the Insignia tablet.  There is no separate charging port - the charging is done through the single USB port which has to be connected to the CM15 so how to connect the charger?  Maybe a micro USB hub (if such a thing exists and will pass the charge power)?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 6719
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2017, 04:36:38 PM »

I'd be a little leery about having the charger connected 24/7 and the internal battery of a tablet. ( but that's just me)

When I used my android tv stick with the CM15 it too also only had one standard USB Port. since it had a Mini USB port I found a mini to standard USB adaptor which worked fine with the CM15 and charger. ;)
I think it was $2.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

LAF

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2017, 07:27:15 PM »

Yeah, I hear you about the Li-ion battery overcharging and such.  Maybe I'll encase it in a metal box.  :D

Was your USB adapter a "Y" cable (I have one on hand with a standard USB port and two micros)?  The standard would go to the CM15, one micro to the Insignia and the other to the USB wall wart(?).  I'm not sure that would work for the power connection though(?).
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 6719
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2017, 07:54:01 PM »

I had a micro port and a standard so the adaptor wasn't a Y just a single.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

LAF

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2017, 08:21:12 PM »

I had a micro port and a standard so the adaptor wasn't a Y just a single.

OK but how then do you connect the one USB port to both the power source and the CM15?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 6719
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2017, 06:53:13 AM »

I think if that is the only port your out of luck. :(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Expert Advisor
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Helpful Post Rating: 132
  • Posts: 5632
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2017, 09:08:17 AM »


OK but how then do you connect the one USB port to both the power source and the CM15?
Powered hub? (with wall adapter, not USB power)
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817111131&cm_re=powered_usb_hub-_-17-111-131-_-Product
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

LAF

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Use a Tablet for ACH/Security Stuff?
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2017, 11:49:21 AM »


OK but how then do you connect the one USB port to both the power source and the CM15?
Powered hub? (with wall adapter, not USB power)
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817111131&cm_re=powered_usb_hub-_-17-111-131-_-Product

That could work.  Thanks Dave!
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.