Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.

Author Topic: Can't Create Object 'X10.ActiveHome'  (Read 147 times)

kerrywnm1

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Can't Create Object 'X10.ActiveHome'
« on: November 14, 2017, 12:42:13 PM »

Hello,

I am trying to write a vbscript to turn on an ActiveHome Pro remote module.

In the script I have "Set myActiveHome = CreateObject("X10.ActiveHome")" . When executed I get the error - ActiveX component can't create object 'X10.ActiveHome'.

I have the AHSDK installed. Am I missing another library?

Thanks.
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 223
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: Can't Create Object 'X10.ActiveHome'
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2017, 02:25:39 PM »

No, the SDK should be all you need.  If it is properly installed, you should have these keys in your registry for the COM class registration:
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\X10.ActiveHome
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\X10.ActiveHome.1
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0001-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0002-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0103-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0105-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-2DEF-0208-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-3DEF-0101-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{001000AF-3DEF-0910-10B6-DC5BA692C858}
If you are on 64-bit Windows then the latter 7 will be under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Classes\CLSID\...
If these keys don't exist in your registry, the SDK is not properly installed and you will get that error.
Logged

m82a1pa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: Can't Create Object 'X10.ActiveHome'
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2017, 08:09:05 PM »

If you are using an x64 operating system, the ahp.dll needs to be manually registered before vbscript can access the objects.

If this is the case, follow the steps here: https://www.opensourceautomation.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=307
Logged

toasterking

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 223
  • We adore chaos because we love to produce order.
Re: Can't Create Object 'X10.ActiveHome'
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2017, 10:55:14 PM »

If you are using an x64 operating system, the ahp.dll needs to be manually registered before vbscript can access the objects.
Interesting.  One of my machines is running Windows 8.1 Pro x64, and with the version of the ActiveHome SDK released 5/16/2011, I did not need to do that.  I have not tried with the 2009 release, though.
Logged

m82a1pa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: Can't Create Object 'X10.ActiveHome'
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 09:12:33 AM »

I should have mentioned I'm running Windows 7 x64 which required it.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.