Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: x2 and x18 cameras  (Read 208 times)

Mic_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 57
x2 and x18 cameras
« on: December 15, 2017, 07:58:10 PM »

I realize that the x cameras are no longer an item; however, I have a question. I still have a few of them installed. Once upon a time I was able to see the cams using my active home Pro software. I can not access the cams in the resurrected Active Home Pro however. Has this question already been posed here? I may not have any choice but to remove the xcams.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: x2 and x18 cameras
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 10:48:20 PM »

...... Once upon a time I was able to see the cams using my active home Pro software......

Yeah... back in the old "original X10" days... you could access your cameras on-line via the X10 servers. When the old original X10 went under those servers disappeared. There are other... P2P software products (I think) that should allow a PC or Phone connection to your 24/7 connected PC. But I think most of us have opted for the higher image quality, easily connected (just scan a barcode image with your phone), server connected DVR's.   
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7193
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: x2 and x18 cameras
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2017, 07:02:38 AM »

The resurrected AHP does have the Iwatchout (camera plugin) built in.
You however need to activate it with AHP-lifejacket. the trick is finding a USB camera capture device that actually works with the new Windows.
I also have several usable Xcams I'd love to use, however I've moved to IP cameras now which allow me to view from anywhere.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Mic_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 57
Re: x2 and x18 cameras
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2017, 08:13:47 AM »

Indeed; when the old x10 went belly up, one could no longer access the x2 and x18 cams via iwatchout. Since the crash however, I was able to view and switch between cams inside active home pro, locally. The observation here, that video capture with the new windows platform, could be the issue. I too moved to IP cams, however, if I can get the x2 and x18 cams to work, I will still use them. Thanks all for the helpful inputs here
Logged

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6070
Re: x2 and x18 cameras
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2017, 09:42:20 AM »

You .... need to activate it with AHP-lifejacket. the trick is finding a USB camera capture device that actually works with the new Windows.....

......... that video capture with the new windows platform, could be the issue.......

For local only viewing a simple solution can be an old XP machine. Or a (still available through Amazon) video switcher... for display on a (lower definition) TV.

Some of the security DVR camera outfits allow for connection of older (lower image quality) cameras. I used an old X10 cam on my Internet viewable (I viewed on my phone) 8 camera unit/system.... until recent months.

 
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Mic_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 57
Re: x2 and x18 cameras
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2017, 12:11:39 AM »

Indeed; I will try that, for nostalgia sake
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.