Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: SmartCloud (Google, Alexa, and or Cortana x10 control)  (Read 177 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7167
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
SmartCloud (Google, Alexa, and or Cortana x10 control)
« on: December 27, 2017, 11:07:21 AM »

Although still not officially released I have started a section for this on my forum.
It wasn't originally designed as a add-on for AHP or even used the SDK, it was originally meant just so I could use my Google Home mini and pass web request for X10 to Alex10 or PcCompanion.
However I added the ability for it to stand alone sending x10 commands requested from Google Home, Cortana or Alexa direct.
This little web request handler only handles X10 requests and sends back a confirmation then disconnects.
I don't think this will run on anything less then Windows 7 as I think I used net 4.5 when compiling.
I posted a couple of setup tutorials on my forum for anyone that may wish additional info. These appear much more complicated they it really is ;)
The RC build is available to anyone that asks via email or PM.
By the way it is and always will be free! ;)
 >!
« Last Edit: December 27, 2017, 11:10:36 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7167
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: SmartCloud (Google, Alexa, and or Cortana x10 control)
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 02:17:46 AM »

I officially released this with Alex10 v1.5.5 however since this can also be run as a standalone app sending X10 info triggered from Google home or Alexa I included a installer which can be found on my forum in the SmartCloud version history topic.
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=1223.msg7596#msg7596
I also compiled this version with net 4.0 so it should work with XP if anyone is still using that ::) :'
Also this is not a Java application, it will only run on a Windows PC!
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7167
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: SmartCloud (Google, Alexa, and or Cortana x10 control)
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2018, 05:34:42 AM »

A new version (1.0.2.1) is now online which fixes the multi icon displays in the system tray.

I've also started to make some progress in dimming using SmartThings cloud and a new device handler.
SmartThings is simular to HA-Bridge as it sends just a device brightness level. I'm trying to create a method to get arround this limitation. However we may be stuck with just having to say "device name (Level)%" :(
Saying dim or brighten right now seems to through an "error communicating with device" voice response. B:(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7167
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: SmartCloud (Google, Alexa, and or Cortana x10 control)
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 05:22:35 PM »

Several have asked for the tutorials on setting this up with SmartThings since my forum went down. :-[
I have retrieved the info and will attempt to either post in a thread here or create a web page with the info.
Hopefully this will be available by end of the week end.
The new X10 WIFI module release has kept my hoping  rofl
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 237
  • Posts: 7167
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: SmartCloud (Google, Alexa, and or Cortana x10 control)
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2018, 06:04:42 AM »

I cleaned up the text a bit and decided to post just as a text file.
If someone wished to take this an dress it up for easier reading I'm sure others would find that most helpful.
Note: This does work for Alexa, Google and Cortana however Cortana probably has the slowest response time.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.