🔌General Home Automation > Automating Your House

Another Alexa/X-10 Question

(1/3) > >>

gkamieneski:
Recently got an Amazon Echo Dot and because I have been running X-10 HA and security for many years I immediately started reading the associated threads here and elsewhere.

My question is, has anyone been able to interface Alexa with X-10 without requiring a PC to always be active? I have the CM15a's EEPROM handling my home now and I also still have a CM11a with the serial interface, but I believe I see most solutions using the Phillips bridge with the X-10 Firecracker?

I guess because the X-10 interfaces recognize RF or PLC and not WiFi that there's no way to address the macros stored in the X-10 devices EEPROM?

Tuicemen:
All current X10 interfaces require a PC to turn a Wi-Fi signal into a PLC signal the X10 WIFI (WM100) due out in a few weeks has Wi-Fi to PLC however there is no published protocol for it yet and it has no RF capabilites.

There are several methods for getting wi-fi to X10 many use Pi devices. Homeseer has a HUB I'm old will do X10 I beileve HA Dave has one. the RM Broadlink will send RF from wi-fi but you still need an android sever setup on your phone.
I've created a few PC options that allow Alexa or Google home control of your X10 devices.

HA Dave:

--- Quote from: Tuicemen on January 01, 2018, 11:10:50 PM ---...... Homeseer has a HUB I'm told will do X10 I beileve HA Dave has one. the RM Broadlink will send RF from wi-fi but you still need an android sever setup on your phone.
--- End quote ---

Yep. I have both the Homeseer hometroller (which is a raspberry pi device). It works with (USB connected to) an interface (a CM15A) to send X10 PLC's. It might be able to send RF... I am not sure... I've never thought to try that. BTW... I run TWO (2) CM15A's with one connected to the Hometroller... and the other connected to a laptop running 24/7. As some of my macros require a running PC (so does my PC based voice for announcements).