Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Poll

Would you like the WM100 to have RF capabilities?

Very Important (I want it ASAP)
- 16 (53.3%)
Useful (I will want it one day)
- 10 (33.3%)
Neutral (I may use it)
- 4 (13.3%)
Not Very Useful (Iprobably won't use it)
- 0 (0%)
Unnecessary  (I will never use it)
- 0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 30


Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: RF capabilities  (Read 959 times)

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 60
  • Posts: 1624
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
RF capabilities
« on: January 17, 2018, 07:39:59 AM »

We really need a full functionality interface to completely replace the CM15. The WM100 could be the one. It needs to receive and send RF, maybe including the security codes.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2018, 09:42:15 AM by Knightrider »
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 172
  • Posts: 6412
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2018, 07:43:39 AM »

We really need a full functionality interface to completely renovated place the CM15. The WM100 could be the one.

I agree. So much is happening in the HA world right now. I am just plain giddy about the new interface (and everything else) right now.
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2018, 07:49:17 AM »

please post as a poll in wishlist section!
« Last Edit: January 17, 2018, 08:04:57 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 60
  • Posts: 1624
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2018, 09:42:39 AM »

please post as a poll in wishlist section!

Done
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2018, 09:46:36 AM »

Voted.
This will most likely be added but will become a new module as it requires a hardware rebuild
I suspect with enough interest we'll see a WM100 Pro come out of this the app would only require a few small adds to make it compatible with the new modules when/if it materializes.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 60
  • Posts: 1624
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2018, 09:49:37 AM »

Guess I forgot to vote.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2018, 09:53:46 AM »

 rofl Been there!
I expect RF to be a very popular request without it your limited to seeing things triggered via RF that has no PLC signal.
This would allow you to arm/dissarm your X10 security system via the phone which I can see as a very popular feature.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

lviper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 231
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2018, 09:55:10 AM »

.....This would allow you to arm/dissarm your X10 security system via the phone which I can see as a very popular feature.

Heck Yeah!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2018, 10:02:46 AM »

The RF code base is so much more extensive then the PLC one adding the RF option expands the use of the WM100 to areas not imagined by the manufacture or the app Developer.
This would allow many to get out some moth balled devices.
Users need to be reminded to vote in this section for all topics!
Topics with the highest input will get implemented first.
Remember there is no right or wrong vote!
« Last Edit: January 17, 2018, 10:04:48 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2282
    • davehouston.org
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2018, 10:13:14 AM »

This will most likely be added but will become a new module as it requires a hardware rebuild
What MCU does the WM100 use? The ESP8266 & ESP32 both have NEC IR built in. It's child's play to convert this to support X10 RF.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2018, 10:15:27 AM »

That is a good question!
Maybe the WM100 will only need a firmware update.
I'll try to find out what MCU it uses.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 172
  • Posts: 6412
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2018, 10:31:38 AM »

I voted other "other"... because I just don't know. RF is nice for use with a palmpad. But realistically... a palmpad is 16 codes. A single TM751 enables an entire palmpad of codes.... and maybe most users entire setup. And RF has so many assorted problems... at least a transceiver can be moved around. But most people would probably rather use a table or phone. Or most likely, Alexa. 
« Last Edit: January 17, 2018, 10:33:46 AM by HA Dave »
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2018, 10:42:09 AM »

I think your looking at the smaller picture.
The Icon remotes could send RF which in most cases (over 50%) only the Cm15  or Cm19 could see ( or the particular device)
over half the RF codes have no PLC equivalent.
Many older X10 hand held remotes could send vast number of RF codes as well but they were limited to the house code they were set to.

In most cases I wouldn't use the WM100 to transmit RF but I would most definitely use it for seeing RF activity.
The ability of RF would expand future macro options.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 172
  • Posts: 6412
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2018, 12:06:59 PM »

.....over half the RF codes have no PLC equivalent.
Many older X10 hand held remotes could send vast number of RF codes as well but they were limited to the house code they were set to.

Your right. Lets think about what the RF signal are (were?) TV-VCR commanders, X10 camera bases, and the security consoles and devices. It would be nice to have the ability to setup security (motion) sensors to turn on lights. Or maybe lack-of-motion to turn lights off. Not sure I'd want an Alexa enabled device to turn my security console on/off. But could the wifi HUB handle such a macro anyway?

What else are we using RF for now-a-days?
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7796
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: RF capabilities
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2018, 12:23:41 PM »

Currently macros (scenes) are very limited. but I'm hopeful these will grow.
Originally the WM100 was to have more onboard memory then the CM15 so such macros should be possible if the memory Onboard is what was originally designed.
I've asked for specs on the modules when I asked about the MCU.
I still use motion detectors but these are the security type as I never had much luck with the others.
Many use door window sensors for detecting all sorts of stuff.
I had PCC configured so all kinds of stuff could be triggered by any X10 RF signal seen.
A home made water detector is one thing I setup using these.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.