Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Running the X10WIFI app on a PC  (Read 754 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Running the X10WIFI app on a PC
« on: January 21, 2018, 10:50:24 AM »

Yes, it is indeed possible!! :)%
There are several Android emulators out there some have more features then others.
It has been a few years since I ran the popular BlueStacks android emulator so that one may work  how ever I found no mention of it utilizing the PC camera (you'll need one)
I found Andy android emulator for windows will use your PCs camera and mic.
https://www.andyroid.net/

Here is the Andy OS FAQ page which lists what is required to run it and how to set it up.
http://andysupport.s3.amazonaws.com/AndyOSFAQ44v1.pdf
This one takes a long time to install but I like it better then BlueStacks
I never had an issue installing to my developers PC (didn't have to enable Virtualization  as suggested)
The Problem is it can't find  my Xbox 360 cameras I have installed. B:(
I'll have to see if I have an old web cam laying arround somewhere.
If I can't find another camera I'll test this on my laptop.
 >!
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 10:27:06 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Running X10WIFI on the PC
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 03:11:10 PM »

I found another web cam but no cord B:(
Andy takes forever to install on may old laptop but enabling the Virtualization wasn't required for it either or at least I don't think so  ::) :'
Andy does see my laptop camera so this is looking promising.
Andy is quick once installed (at least on my desktop) the install just apears to hang as it installs without any display of progress.
once installed it auto starts so if you go this route be prepaired to wait. ;)

Google sign in to the play store also took forever on my laptop (maybe because I was using wi-fi)
I was able to download the app and install it.
However I think my laptop may be just running at the bare minimum required specs.
You want to have an upto date PC with more then the required minimum requirments
Scanning the QR was extreamly painful but worth the pain! B:( ::) :'
Success! The WM100 is controllable via my laptop! :)%
 >!
« Last Edit: January 21, 2018, 03:21:43 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Running X10WIFI on the PC
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 03:32:42 PM »

Now that it is running on my laptop I'll attempt to import (copy the Andy folder to my desktop) As it appears the camera cord is done bye bye B:(
Hope it all fits on my spare USB stick. ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 173
  • Posts: 6624
Re: Running X10WIFI on the PC
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2018, 04:01:41 PM »

.... Scanning the QR was extreamly painful but worth the pain! B:( ::) :'
Success! The WM100 is controllable via my laptop!

A great option for the non-mobile phone, and diehard windows users!

Question... is that the same laptop that you've also managed to pair with the Amazon, Alexa? 
Logged
If X10 doesn't jump on the AI band wagon soon...
...there ain't going to be no X10 dance! 

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Running X10WIFI on the PC
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2018, 04:35:25 PM »

No. Alexa, Google, and Cortana control of X10 are done on my desktop.

This Laptop does have the abilities with Alex10 but I susspect it would be to slow to run every thing. It was just updated with the latest windows 10 so Cortana is available for x10 from it too.
 >!
« Last Edit: February 03, 2018, 12:00:41 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Running X10WIFI on the PC
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2018, 06:07:06 AM »

I mentioned my success with controlling the WM100 via the PC to Authinx.
But I think they were confused by my email stating the WM100 was designed to work without a PC.
Configuration from a PC would have to come from the community using the protocol they plan to release in the future.
So although I didn't ask about the protocol it appears it is still on their todo list :)%
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Running the X10WIFI app on a PC
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2018, 03:22:52 AM »

I've just switched emulators, moving back to the tried and true BlueStacks.
reason posted here: http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=30233.msg172728#msg172728
This is a much faster loading emulator and creates a shortcut on the windows desktop to auto open the Wi-Fi app in BlueStacks.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.