Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Poll

How many devices would you like the WM100 to work with?

32 (current limit - no change)
- 1 (4.8%)
64
- 4 (19%)
128
- 5 (23.8%)
256
- 11 (52.4%)

Total Members Voted: 21


Author Topic: Increase the current limit of 32 devices  (Read 492 times)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2763
Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« on: January 25, 2018, 01:34:59 PM »

The WM100 is currently limited to only 32 devices. Many X10 users have already expressed a need to control more devices than this.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 01:38:36 PM »

Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 777
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 02:56:49 PM »

Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?

It should take only two code wheels, one for A-P and one for 1-16, to get 256 combinations.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 105
  • Posts: 2018
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2018, 03:52:46 PM »

Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?
It should take only two code wheels, one for A-P and one for 1-16, to get 256 combinations.

It takes no code wheels.  They are defined in the application software, and can be spread across all house codes.  Perhaps they didn't think people used more than 32 X10 devices.  We are within that except for being able to control individual irrigation valves through a Rain8.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5884
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2018, 03:54:06 PM »

Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?
No. But Regency Electronics (old CB radio company, made the first transistor radio) made the "Regulator" PLC system with four dials. It would do 100 House codes and 100 Unit Codes. The first 16 codes were X10 protocol so it would control X10 and "Regulator" modules.
Check out the old DAK ad. The controller / Timer housing was also used in a Regency police scanner.
https://books.google.com/books?id=LdkDAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA135&lpg=PA135&dq=regency+electronics+remote+control+system&source=bl&ots=BwDgaiAF9Y&sig=jMVoDYJyly3mlMwIlYfa6AF6FVM&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjA79vCoPTYAhWjz4MKHeW6A5cQ6AEIgAEwCw#v=onepage&q=regency%20electronics%20remote%20control%20system&f=false
 
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2416
    • davehouston.org
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2018, 04:22:57 PM »

I don't recall the details but Advanced Control Technologies (A10) used far more addresses.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5884
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2018, 05:04:16 PM »

I don't recall the details but Advanced Control Technologies (A10) used far more addresses.
Yeah, That was Phil Kingery's old employer. I run in to him every once in a while, although it's been years.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2018, 08:00:09 PM »

No. But Regency Electronics (old CB radio company, made the first transistor radio) made the "Regulator" PLC system with four dials. It would do 100 House codes and 100 Unit Codes. The first 16 codes were X10 protocol so it would control X10 and "Regulator" modules.
Check out the old DAK ad. The controller / Timer housing was also used in a Regency police scanner.
https://books.google.com/books?id=LdkDAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA135&lpg=PA135&dq=regency+electronics+remote+control+system&source=bl&ots=BwDgaiAF9Y&sig=jMVoDYJyly3mlMwIlYfa6AF6FVM&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjA79vCoPTYAhWjz4MKHeW6A5cQ6AEIgAEwCw#v=onepage&q=regency%20electronics%20remote%20control%20system&f=false

Thanks,
I knew I wasn't dreaming that I had seen one once upon a time.  I was a DAKonian.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2018, 06:15:08 AM »

The following is from an old HD.  Many of these units have been shelved due to the fact I can't get AHP to register, and that all of my x10 cameras have been given to my son, who I believe threw them in the trash.

This is for posterity, but I would love to have this kind of automation rolling again.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6615
Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2018, 02:23:28 PM »

The following is from an old HD.  Many of these units have been shelved due to the fact I can't get AHP to register, and that all of my x10 cameras have been given to my son, who I believe threw them in the trash.

This is for posterity, but I would love to have this kind of automation rolling again.

We need to fix your problem.... I have similar concerns. http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=30197.new#new
Logged
Time marches on and we have to march with it. Otherwise, I'd still have my Commodore Vic 20.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.