Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP  (Read 1008 times)

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5838
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2018, 01:22:38 PM »

When you "loaded", was it connecting to a new CM100, or to an existing CM100?
Was an existing. However I have a second WM100 (a brand new virgin) and will initialize on a Droid Mini. Can't do it tonight but tomorrow. Will let you know the results
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 937
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2018, 01:45:54 PM »

(WM100 not CM)

Whoops sorry.  You're correct.   Brain fart.   :-[
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5838
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2018, 06:40:52 AM »

When you "loaded", was it connecting to a new CM100, or to an existing CM100?
Was an existing. However I have a second WM100 (a brand new virgin) and will initialize on a Droid Mini. Can't do it tonight but tomorrow. Will let you know the results
OK, This morning I downloaded the WM100 App to the second Droid Mini and used it to initialize my second (virgin) WM100. After the init I turned off WiFi on the phone and rebooted the Mini with Airplane mode on. WiFi did not come back on. I also turned Airplane mode off and repeated the reboot. With Airplane mode off,  WiFi  came back on when I loaded the app.  But nothing as far as SSID or passwords was messed up.

One thing I would try is to force an Android update if you are running 4.2.2
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 937
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2018, 07:21:29 AM »

OK, This morning I downloaded the WM100 App to the second Droid Mini and used it to initialize my second (virgin) WM100. After the init I turned off WiFi on the phone and rebooted the Mini with Airplane mode on. WiFi did not come back on. I also turned Airplane mode off and repeated the reboot. With Airplane mode off,  WiFi  came back on when I loaded the app.  But nothing as far as SSID or passwords was messed up.

First, let me give a heartfelt thanks. 

I now wonder if something went wrong during my initial setup?.   The setup worked well enough to get the WM100 up and running, but the X10 App didn't clean up after itself (or something similar)?

Just to confirm, you didn't loose any (for me, all) of your saved WiFi passwords? 

Can you please try this? With WiFi 'on', go into the X10 App, exit the X10 App by pressing Home, turn WiFi 'off', wait, does WiFi turn itself back 'on'?    From what I am getting is that this is intentional behavior by the X10 App, but IMHO, very undesirable.   I use Cell Data almost exclusively, and don't want WiFi ever turning 'on', whether I am home or elsewhere, especially when I am not even actively using the X10 App.   

If we could solve the WiFi turning 'on' problem (solve = stop), I would be temped to try re-installing the X10 App on my phone again.   BTW, I still have the X10 App on my tablet (but that has the Sleep Timeout problem  :(  )

One thing I would try is to force an Android update if you are running 4.2.2

For other reasons, updating the phone's O/S isn't an option (blame Verizon).
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 07:43:35 AM by Walt2 »
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 937
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2018, 07:38:20 AM »

Just to keep this somewhat separate.   I still can't get my phone to connect to my main home WiFi network, and stay connected.  Just to summarize...

I had no problems connecting to my main WiFi network before running the WM100 setup.   Matter of fact, just before running the X10 App for the first time, I successfully connected to my main WiFi network (I assume such was necessary for the WM100 setup).

I can still connect to my guest WiFi network (different name than my main WiFi network).   I had to re-enter its password (because I lost all my passwords after the setup), but it successfully now remembers that password, and will auto-connect to that network whenever WiFi is turned back 'on'.   Also, the guest WiFi network is running off the same router as my main home WiFi network.

Now, when I connect to my main WiFi network, it disconnects on its own after a short while (seconds.... less than 1 minute).

During the brief connect time, I tried quickly pulling up its options, and selected 'forget'.   It was suggested that this might clear out any bad settings.   It didn't help.   :(
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

m82a1pa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 65
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2018, 07:48:02 AM »

Is it possibly router issue?  Have you tried power cycling your router?  I have to do this occasionally.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 60
  • Posts: 1646
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #21 on: January 27, 2018, 08:54:18 AM »

Could it be that the router only allows so many connections? Mom has an ATT Homebase that only allows 10.
i.e. 5 per guest and 5 per main, or any combination thereof.

I have seen stranger things. I have a printer that refuses to connect to my main router, but does fine on my homebase (only 10 connections and no guest account). Real PITA when I want to print from my desktop which has a CAT5 line to the router behind my HomeBase.

I never figured out what the problem was, I just work around it.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5838
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #22 on: January 27, 2018, 09:09:56 AM »

First, let me give a heartfelt thanks. 

Just to confirm, you didn't loose any (for me, all) of your saved WiFi passwords? 

Can you please try this? With WiFi 'on', go into the X10 App, exit the X10 App by pressing Home, turn WiFi 'off', wait, does WiFi turn itself back 'on'?    From what I am getting is that this is intentional behavior by the X10 App, but IMHO, very undesirable.   I use Cell Data almost exclusively, and don't want WiFi ever turning 'on', whether I am home or elsewhere, especially when I am not even actively using the X10 App.   

If we could solve the WiFi turning 'on' problem (solve = stop), I would be temped to try re-installing the X10 App on my phone again.   BTW, I still have the X10 App on my tablet (but that has the Sleep Timeout problem  :(  )

1. Not a problem. I am with the gubment and here to help.
2. Nope,  had no password problems at all.
3. No. WiFi remained off until I restarted the App many minutes later. Starting the App did turn on WiFi.

Wow, you are taking the long way around the mountain to communicate with the WM100 via Verizon network (BTW I am on Verizon also).

BTW you should be able force and update through Verizon. When you check for system updates, under "Settings", "System", Verizon comes back and says you are up to date???  That ain't right.
I am pretty sure between Android 4.2.2 and 4.4.4 there was an Android security patch on April first 2016. Check if you got that. It is under "Settings", "About Phone".
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5838
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #23 on: January 27, 2018, 09:19:55 AM »

Now, when I connect to my main WiFi network, it disconnects on its own after a short while (seconds.... less than 1 minute).
That sounds a little like a router issue. When this first started was WiFi screwed up ONLY for the one phone? Or was all homes WiFi screwed up? If that be the case, and I'm shooting in the dark, but if me, I would go in to the router delete the SSID and passwords then reload them in the router.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 8008
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #24 on: January 27, 2018, 09:37:34 AM »

@ Walt2
When you uninstalled the app did you first reset to factory from the apps settings?
You shouldn't need to do that but since it appears it messed up your connection settings that may need to be done on older android versions.
I wonder if a reinstall , connect to existing hub, then do a reset to factory will fix things ::) :'
You should also still be able to forget your wifi even if not connected to it from the phones settings/wifi.
That may prevent the app from trying to connecting via wifi. ::) :'


Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 937
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #25 on: January 27, 2018, 10:32:57 AM »

As far as I know, there is no limit to the number of devices on my router (I have many due to my home automation... everything from my thermostats to my dishwasher).   Also, when I have my phone connect to my main WiFi network, it has to disconnect from my guest network first.   So, that would free up a "spot", if one was even required.

Remember, I can't do a new, fresh, install of my WM100 from my phone, because I could never stay connected long enough to my main WiFi network to do it.

Other than for the Sleep Timeout problem, my tablet is doing fine.   Though, it was done as a connection to an existing WM100.

Only my phone is affected.   My tablet and everything else in the house has no problems with my router.

No, when I uninstall the X10 App from my phone, I didn't do a factory reset first.  I assume that only resets the WM100, and like I said, my tablet is working OK with it.

I haven't tried simply resetting the router (yet).   I have a teenager, who would cry uncontrollable if he lost internet for even a few minutes (probably call child services on me too  ;D  ).    :'

I still have the open question on how did my phone, running the X10 App, initially connect to the WM100?  At that initial point in the setup, the WM100 couldn't itself directly connect to my home WiFi network because it didn't yet know my network's name nor password.  So, possibly my phone and the CM100 had to establish some kind of direct (ad-hoc?) WiFi connection?   My guess is still, whatever the X10 App did at that point, was left not restored. 

The only problems I remember from when I did the install, was that since I left my phone laying flat on the table, my phone's screen flipped from portrait to landscape.   The X10 App didn't seem to like that at all.   Later in the processes, when I was attempting to update the firmware from x.22 to x.23, it failed because of the screen flip.  I had to try the firmware update again, this time holding the phone so that its screen would not flip orientation.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 10:36:34 AM by Walt2 »
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 8008
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2018, 10:45:39 AM »

For initial setup from my understanding of how IoT devices initially connect  is it listens for a connection on a specific IP (Direct connection) once connected your phone tells it what WiFi access point to use.
I would think you should be able to reinstall the app and connect to existing hub without being on wifi, but I could be wrong.
the WM100 already knows what Wifi to use.

the reset to factory is actually to reset the app not the WM100 I tried to get that reworded prior to release or at least a description  of what it did in the manual,  which the manual does:
Quote
o Reset to Factory Settings  This option will reset all the data on your APP ONLY.  This does not affect the WM100.  This will simply clear out the data on your phone.  If the WM100 does not receive a hardware reset, once you reconnect with the WM100 it will resync the App and download the information and settings from your WM100.  To completely remove all data from both the hardware (WM100) and the App, do a hard reset on the WM100 itself. To do this, HOLD down the SYNC button for about 10-15 seconds.  You will see a slow blink after about 4 -5 seconds then around 10-15 seconds
>!
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 01:36:05 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5838
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2018, 02:07:00 PM »

Walt2 FWIW
If you have not replaced the batteries in the Droid Mini, you will soon need to. It isn't difficult but does need a plastic cracker tool to crack the case without damage. There is an inductive charger coil above the battery. Once that is out of the way, putting in a new battery is easy. Just be delicate with the fragile Flex circuits. I got new batteries for ours off ebay for 12 bucks and they are working fine. There are a couple of good YouTube videos on replacing the battery in the Droid Mini. BTW Motorola is no longer the premiere cell phone manufacturer, but the Droids are really good phones.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 937
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2018, 02:16:35 PM »

OK, I've playing around with all of this, and stumbled upon something.   Apparently, when I close the X10 App, it simply goes into the background, but is still kind-of running.  I don't know the official name for it, but if I press on the soft button next to the home button, I get a list of all the apps running in the background.   If I swipe over the X10 App, to fully and totally close it, the WiFi stops turning itself back 'on'.   Maybe this is obvious to some of you, but it wasn't to me.

Not a great requirement, and something I have to start to remember to do, but it certainly makes the X10 App more "livable".   :)%
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 937
Re: Totally screwed up my phone's WiFi -- HELP
« Reply #29 on: January 27, 2018, 03:06:38 PM »

For initial setup from my understanding of how IoT devices initially connect  is it listens for a connection on a specific IP (Direct connection) once connected your phone tells it what WiFi access point to use.

Problem solved.

Well, as mentioned, my cell service provider is Verizon.   A while back, Verizon "forced" the download and installation of a "Security & Privacy" app onto most (all?) phones connected to their network.   Amongst other functions, its kind-of like an anti-virus program.   I am not sure, but I think the true author of it, is McAfee.
 
Anyway...

Apparently something in the X10 App's setup routine, triggered this Security App.   Just guessing, but possibly the "listening" mentioned?    Anyway, the X10 App triggered the Security App into adding my home WiFi network to its list of "bad" networks.    That is probably why I could connect briefly to my home network, and it was the Security App that was subsequently disconnecting it after a short while.

I opened up the Security App, went into Wi-Fi Security, went into Managed WiFi Networks, and there listed as BLOCKED was my home WiFi network.    I remove it. 

Now I can connect to my home WiFi network !!!

Possibly, someone in some official capacity at X10 (customer support?  WM100 support?) should know about this?   If some other new X10 App user has a phone that's on Verizon, and has this Security App installed, they should check its list of bad/blocked WiFi networks after Setup.

My thanks to all of you for all your suggestions and help. 
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 03:12:53 PM by Walt2 »
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.