Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Re: Dusk dawn (bug)  (Read 387 times)

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 101
  • Posts: 1850
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2018, 06:36:26 AM »

I originally though the App would do latitude longitude and supplied a method to do it like AHP does.

Latitude and longitude would obviously work too, but a zip code conversion would be easier for the customer.

For example:  https://www.freemaptools.com/convert-us-zip-code-to-lat-lng.htm

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7473
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2018, 08:11:02 AM »

Yep, that would work for US customers but not outside the US.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6216
Re: Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2018, 09:12:12 AM »


Out of force of habit I deny any application that asks my location.

I know what you mean.... those old habits are hard to break. I often joke that I am so old... That I still carry pocket change and I don't even know why.

Whereas... I really am attracted to the idea of living in the boonies in an off-grid "Earthship" made from old tires and shipping containers. But... it ain't gone-a-happen. Meanwhile... all my private information has been hacked at least 3 times, and the NSA listens to every work I speak. Somehow... I think letting an app know my location... isn't so scary.

As a suggestion...... you might want to compile an alternate ID. Pick it, write it down... and stick to it for on-line and other meaningless crap.
Misspell your name
Use a different address
change your birthdate (and year)
use the zip code for that 'other" post office

I always claim to be a guy named Tom... who lives in Canada.
 
« Last Edit: February 01, 2018, 09:18:10 AM by HA Dave »
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

no57

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2018, 01:12:28 PM »

I originally though the App would do latitude longitude and supplied a method to do it like AHP does.

Latitude and longitude would obviously work too, but a zip code conversion would be easier for the customer.

For example:  https://www.freemaptools.com/convert-us-zip-code-to-lat-lng.htm

Jeff
Actually, operating systems do not ask for latitude or longitude, they ask for time zone. And most implementation ask for one major city in that TZ, from which they derive TZ,  very simple for most usages.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 58
  • Posts: 1504
  • I want my BVC
    • This Automated House
Re: Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2018, 01:52:15 PM »

I Just got An Email back on this and it is indeed a bug which the developer is attempting to nail down.
However the info I requested previously will help the developer nail this down much faster.
Authinx has suggested users with Dusk Dawn issues use basic timers till the fix has been coded.
There have been reports of the dawn timer coming on at 1 am (not good) B:(

If there is a bug, why isn't everyone reporting it? Android on Samsung Galaxy S 5 (x2), Galaxy Tab E and Tab 4.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7473
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #20 on: February 01, 2018, 02:56:24 PM »

It appears it is a iOS issue according to Authinx.
The developer is having a hard time nailing it down. This is why additional info was requested from forum members.
It may just be specific time zones, phones, carriers, or iOS versions.
The more commonalities that can be found, the quicker it maybe nailed down and a fix applied.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 58
  • Posts: 1504
  • I want my BVC
    • This Automated House
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #21 on: February 01, 2018, 04:07:25 PM »

Just noticed the Porch Light failed to turn on tonight. Will try to report back tomorrow night.

UPDATE: must have been a one time miss, or the wife turned it off. WM100 timers are working wonderfully.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2018, 04:37:30 AM by Knightrider »
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

VinRin57

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #22 on: February 01, 2018, 05:21:30 PM »

As an FYI- I'm in NJ, and when at home we've got Optimum as our ISP.  I DID most of the set ups using iOS... hmmmm, do I use Android instead? Oh, and yes, upgraded firmware right outta da box!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7473
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #23 on: February 01, 2018, 05:25:27 PM »

As an FYI- I'm in NJ, and when at home we've got Optimum as our ISP.  I DID most of the set ups using iOS... hmmmm, do I use Android instead? Oh, and yes, upgraded firmware right outta da box!
I believe the  setup being done with iOS is what the developer is thinking is the issue.
If you do have an android device you may try redoing the dusk dawn with it and see if that helps.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6216
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #24 on: February 01, 2018, 05:30:52 PM »

Just noticed the Porch Light failed to turn on tonight. Will try to report back tomorrow night.

Or... it could be the bulb?

I've been converting things to Homeseer (having trouble mastering events, aka macros)... as well as the WM100 (all my timers are working well there). With somethings I am depending for alerts on my phone.... a little from here, a little from there. I've lived with back-ups to my back-ups for so long..... now I am trying to RE-imagine the entire setup. It's frustrating... and a lot of fun.
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 58
  • Posts: 1504
  • I want my BVC
    • This Automated House
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #25 on: February 01, 2018, 06:38:05 PM »


Or... it could be the bulb?


Nope. Turned it on the old fashioned way -- with an app on my phone.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

no57

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #26 on: February 01, 2018, 08:02:19 PM »

As an FYI- I'm in NJ, and when at home we've got Optimum as our ISP.  I DID most of the set ups using iOS... hmmmm, do I use Android instead? Oh, and yes, upgraded firmware right outta da box!
I believe the  setup being done with iOS is what the developer is thinking is the issue.
If you do have an android device you may try redoing the dusk dawn with it and see if that helps.
I am in Quebec, Canada, same TZ as New York, With Bell as an ISP, and I have the inoperative Dawn/Dusk problem also on my Android 7 Motorola  Moto G5.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 169
  • Posts: 6216
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #27 on: February 02, 2018, 02:54:20 AM »

... Turned it on the old fashioned way -- with an app on my phone.

 rofl  Yep. Just like the way we did it in the ole days. Methodical trouble shoot is essential to HA. 
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 58
  • Posts: 1504
  • I want my BVC
    • This Automated House
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #28 on: February 05, 2018, 03:42:11 PM »

Just noticed the Porch Light failed to turn on tonight. Will try to report back tomorrow night.

UPDATE: must have been a one time miss, or the wife turned it off. WM100 timers are working wonderfully.

Ok, so a failed dust timer again tonight. This was after I disconnected my Internet (did not unplug the WM100) and tried to connect with the app over a WiFi LAN without internet.

I later reconnected the Internet and connected with the app, but just noticed the light failed to turn on.

Is there a connection to these events? I may need another forum member to duplicate the experiment to find out.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7473
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Dusk dawn (bug)
« Reply #29 on: February 05, 2018, 04:34:05 PM »

I had done the disconnect reconnect modem thing after you posted just to confirm the internet requirement.
I only have one dusk timer though and it still cam on when it was suppose to.
I also have not experienced the dusk bug(yet).

It should be noted I have done an app uninstall and a hard reset of the WM100 prior. These things may have fixed the Dusk bug before it was noticed by me. ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.