Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: WM100 passthrough mod  (Read 654 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8600
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
WM100 passthrough mod
« on: February 05, 2018, 09:48:41 AM »

Warning this will void the warranty
I'm not much of a hardware tinker but I just had to open this up.
Since the passthrough was on my original test unit and the last one still had the holes in the case. I figured the main circuit board may not have changed much.
This one should be relatively easy to do as the circuit board still has the spot to solder in the hardware.
You can probably get the hardware from a old non working module.
You'll need a Drumel tool or something to cut the slots in the case to allow you to plug something in.
You can then just run two wires from the input to the out put legs, there are spots on the board to solder to. ;)

I've not done this yet myself but I figure many will start moding this as the limitations are discovered and ways around them figured out. I don't know why the passthrough was removed. It couldn't have saved many pennies. ::)
Since there are many in the community that like to tear things down this may be the perfect module to start hacking! ::) :'
 >!
« Last Edit: February 05, 2018, 10:27:06 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2764
Re: WM100 pass threw mod
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2018, 10:19:14 AM »

Did you mean passthrough?  ;)
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 04:50:39 AM by Noam »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8600
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM100 passthrough mod
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2018, 10:28:46 AM »

Yep fixed. I hate the phone auto spell check. It never puts in the correct words for me. B:(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8600
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM100 passthrough mod
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2018, 07:25:31 AM »

Latest circuit board design changes makes this mod now impossible to do. :(
Or at least not as easy  as the circuit board no longer has the solder points and that area is now populated with diodes
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2764
Re: WM100 passthrough mod
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2018, 09:34:26 AM »

Latest circuit board design changes makes this mod now impossible to do. :(
Or at least not as easy  as the circuit board no longer has the solder points and that area is now populated with diodes

So maybe it would be better to just remove the thread entirely, since it can't be done now?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8600
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM100 passthrough mod
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2018, 10:23:04 AM »

But it still can be done to the first release builds. ;)
I only discovered this after opening a replacement for one I had bricked during testing of the last firmware update.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2764
Re: WM100 passthrough mod
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2018, 01:45:22 PM »

But it still can be done to the first release builds. ;)
I only discovered this after opening a replacement for one I had bricked during testing of the last firmware update.
Do you know how many of the first release units were manufactured? It seems like a lot of work (to either version of the board) where a cube-tap would probably be a safer solution. :-)
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.