Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Multiple distribution panels  (Read 196 times)

scali2018

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 31
Multiple distribution panels
« on: February 08, 2018, 07:53:46 AM »

I have 4 power distribution panels and was wondering if I need to put phase couplers on all of them.  thanks in advance.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 103
  • Posts: 1917
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Multiple distribution panels
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2018, 09:14:23 AM »

With 4 panels, you probably have a very large home.  At the very least you will probably need some sort of signal booster and coupler at the "master" panel, especially if you have long electrical runs.  Whether you need additional couplers depends on how the panels are configured and whether you need direct X10 paths between phases at the other panels.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

scali2018

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 31
Re: Multiple distribution panels
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2018, 09:19:45 AM »

With 4 panels, you probably have a very large home.  At the very least you will probably need some sort of signal booster and coupler at the "master" panel, especially if you have long electrical runs.  Whether you need additional couplers depends on how the panels are configured and whether you need direct X10 paths between phases at the other panels.

Jeff

Jeff, thanks for the response.  Right now I don't have any couplers and things work 'ok'.  Recently things became a little intermittent so I plan to put in a leviton 'blocker' at the main panel and connect the passive coupler.  Hopefully that solve the issue.
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 1293
Re: Multiple distribution panels
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2018, 05:40:58 AM »

I have 2 panels and a sub panel in my shop 100+ ft away.  I have a single XTB-IIR that connects to one panel.  The underground power box is on my property, so the run from one panel to the other (through the box) is around 50ft.  The sub panel is off the second box so the XTB-IIR handles signals from around 150' of wire through 2 panels and I don't see any issues.  Granted, I only have 1 X10 light switch and a mini controller in my shop, but it still works 100%.  I can't say anything about your setup though.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.