Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?  (Read 7729 times)

ekraus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #45 on: September 04, 2018, 08:19:55 AM »

The first time I got involved with X10 was in 87 and have had it in my houses since.
I was working on a project called Transtext with BS, Johnson Controls and GA Power.
Got lots of free gear.
At one time almost every light, WH, AC's, Pumps as much as i could connect was on it.
I probably had every controller and module made since then.
For me the 1132CU was the best of the controllers that came out.
I think I have been through 5 of them and still have 2. 1 that was in the box new since they DA them.
I tried insteon (actually was one of there first dealers) and it just was a PIA and the hardware was crap.
Now all I have is my exterior lights, WH, wall fountain and Pool pump on the WM100 using timers.

I still think its a great technology if you can get rid of the noise (which I did with Jeff's help).
Its not bullet proof but could have been with the introduction of the extended codes and some good software.
My palmpads don't work anymore so I use my phone when necessary.
Although once again the app may show something on or off but its not.
I modified most of the appliance modules i had snipping the diode to stop the current sensing and pigtailed them to use in my exterior control.
I still have several leviton (208/240V) 6330 modules, a bunch of interfaces including a CP290.
Smarthome for me is 5 remotes on the couch!

Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #46 on: September 04, 2018, 09:50:03 AM »

Regular timers as well as Dusk/Dawn ones don't get affected by a server being down.

As long as you don't have any sort of power blip - because that would reset the clock in your device, and it will be wrong until you *actively* connect to it with a device (which requires the server to be up), and re-sync the time. If you're in a different time zone when you do that, your timers are messed up. That's a huge design flaw, in my opinion.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #47 on: September 04, 2018, 10:26:09 AM »

Regular timers as well as Dusk/Dawn ones don't get affected by a server being down.

As long as you don't have any sort of power blip - because that would reset the clock in your device, and it will be wrong until you *actively* connect to it with a device (which requires the server to be up), and re-sync the time. If you're in a different time zone when you do that, your timers are messed up. That's a huge design flaw, in my opinion.
So true. I keep forgetting (being at the off grid place) about power outages.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #48 on: September 05, 2018, 10:14:27 AM »

Regular timers as well as Dusk/Dawn ones don't get affected by a server being down.

As long as you don't have any sort of power blip - because that would reset the clock in your device, and it will be wrong until you *actively* connect to it with a device (which requires the server to be up), and re-sync the time. If you're in a different time zone when you do that, your timers are messed up. That's a huge design flaw, in my opinion.
So true. I keep forgetting (being at the off grid place) about power outages.
I just can't believe the designers completely ignored that major design requirement. Did they think the CM15A's batteries were just for show?
Logged

npaisnel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 54
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #49 on: September 05, 2018, 10:16:55 AM »

What about the CM11 or 12 ?

Does the battery in that keep clock time when a power failure occurs ?
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #50 on: September 06, 2018, 09:29:35 AM »

What about the CM11 or 12 ?

Does the battery in that keep clock time when a power failure occurs ?
Yes
Logged

npaisnel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 54
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #51 on: September 06, 2018, 10:20:51 AM »

Thanks, Iíll keep that, use heyu for uploading schedules and Ebay the CM15.   Though it is handy as a power line transceiver
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12695
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #52 on: September 06, 2018, 10:31:40 AM »

According to the protocol document.
When it see AC applied it sends a request to the PC for the correct time. I don't how accurate it is on battery. It does not have a clock chip. So it must be a function of the controller chip.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2486
    • davehouston.org
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #53 on: September 06, 2018, 10:43:08 AM »

According to the protocol document.
When it see AC applied it sends a request to the PC for the correct time. I don't how accurate it is on battery. It does not have a clock chip. So it must be a function of the controller chip.
It's not very accurate. Plus, you cannot send/receive commands before responding to the request.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

ekraus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #54 on: September 22, 2018, 08:11:56 AM »

Well
Can you depend on the WM100?
NO NO NO NO.
What a piece of crap.
All of a sudden out of the blue my dusk lights come on 2+ hours
before dusk.
Get my phone and go to app.
Cannot connect to HUB.
So I proceed to reconnect to the HUB.
Follow the steps and no connection.
Then connect. Yeah!
Ok lets sync with HUB.
INFO O - devices, rooms, timers, scenes, dusk/dawn timers.
Cancel
Go back to devices.
Wait everything is still there under each device.
NOW WHAT?
Do I throw this piece of crap in that canal behind the house?
Logged

jdenenberg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #55 on: March 22, 2019, 06:13:06 PM »

Well
Can you depend on the WM100?
NO NO NO NO.
What a piece of crap.
All of a sudden out of the blue my dusk lights come on 2+ hours
before dusk.
Get my phone and go to app.
Cannot connect to HUB.
So I proceed to reconnect to the HUB.
Follow the steps and no connection.
Then connect. Yeah!
Ok lets sync with HUB.
INFO O - devices, rooms, timers, scenes, dusk/dawn timers.
Cancel
Go back to devices.
Wait everything is still there under each device.
NOW WHAT?
Do I throw this piece of crap in that canal behind the house?
I am a looooong time user of X10 with a CM15a and AHP and now have a functioning WM100.  The lack of RF and a "macro" capability was a problem, but I plugged in a couple of RF repeaters so that RF commands from remotes and IR sensors got on the power line.  I then directly connected mt lights that were under macro control to the IR sensors and reestablished automated stair lighting.

The dependence on X10 servers is a concern as I lived through the earlier loss of ability to reinstall AHP that caused a temporary loss of my "smart home" functionality.  The availability of a hacked version of AHP (not requiring registration) solved this problem. 

The reason I am now using the WM100 instead of AHP and my CM15a was that there is a basic incompatibility between the CM15a and power line repeaters (causing command "storms").  I needed to install a powerline repeater to get more reliable operation of my modules in the presence of power line noise from some equipment in my home.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #56 on: March 22, 2019, 06:21:16 PM »

  I needed to install a powerline repeater to get more reliable operation of my modules in the presence of power line noise from some equipment in my home.
Powerline repeaters are not the answer to line noise as many will repeat that as well.
The trick is to locate and isolate what is causing the issue.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5977
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #57 on: March 23, 2019, 05:58:31 PM »

The reason I am now using the WM100 instead of AHP and my CM15a was that there is a basic incompatibility between the CM15a and power line repeaters (causing command "storms").  I needed to install a powerline repeater to get more reliable operation of my modules in the presence of power line noise from some equipment in my home.
IF you are using an X10 or Leviton repeater, try this:
http://jvde.us/xtb-iirp.htm
It will likely boost the X10 signal well above whatever you noise is. But as Tuiceman recommended you should try to identify and isolate sources of noise.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #58 on: March 26, 2019, 12:02:55 PM »

With no new news from Authinx (X10) on the WM100, I had to drop them an e-mail and see if the WM100 was being discontinued.
I was informed that it continues to be well liked by many users that are just looking for phone control of their X10 devices and timers. They have no intention of discontinuing it and are still on the developer to improve the apps.
The WM100 I keep being reminded of was never intended to be for the X10 Power user.

For those (Power Users) looking for a AHP replacement  with added phone control and no need for a PC, the PiX10Hub would be my suggestion.

Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 172
Re: Will the X10 WIFI app and WM100 replace AHP and the CM15?
« Reply #59 on: March 26, 2019, 06:31:19 PM »

The least they can do is fix the issues with features that they're marketing that don't work.

I still can't sync on iOS. I still can't get history on iOS.  I could go on...
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.