Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: WM 100 on the network  (Read 111 times)

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 58
  • Posts: 1504
  • I want my BVC
    • This Automated House
WM 100 on the network
« on: February 08, 2018, 01:18:07 PM »

I'm curious. What is the device name of the WM 100 on your network? Is it ESP..(something)?
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 132
  • Posts: 5724
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2018, 03:16:32 PM »

Yep. ESP and then what could be a six digit hexadecimal number.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7474
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2018, 04:30:05 AM »

The ESP indicates that the WM100 is using the ESP wi-fi chip there are several places on the web that describe how to flash this chip and to upload a new firmware to it.
Once you've done that all frequent updated to your new firmware can be done over the internet exactly how Authinix's manufacture is doing it now.
I did crack mine open to have a quick peak but never thought to look for the pins which allow for flashing the firmware.
I'm sure it is just a matter of time before someone flashes the WM100 with a custom firmware unlocking the vast potential of this device.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7474
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2018, 05:10:28 AM »

During my testing I noticed this display using an advanced port scanner when I was attempting to possibly hack into the WM100.
This was initially confusing me as I had a few itead Sonoff modules which reported the same ESP_(different hex string).
I have hacked one Sonoff module with different firmware to allow local control if the internet is down.
 -:) It might be worth a hardware/software gurus time to crack one of these puppies open and playing with some different firmware. ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 2212
    • davehouston.org
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2018, 06:18:16 AM »

I'm not sure it's worth the effort. They seem to be using one of the Espressif chips for WiFi only with another processor doing the rest.
https://www.espressif.com/en/products/hardware/esp-wroom-02/overview
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7474
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2018, 07:07:59 AM »

Interestingly there is open source smartphone code for the ESPif on GitHub
https://github.com/EspressifApp  ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 2212
    • davehouston.org
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2018, 07:45:10 AM »

The ESP chip, a 64-pin MCU and an 8-pin (memory chip?) are all on a daughterboard so it might be possible to replace it with one having different capabilities while retaining the new, improved power/PLC section.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 238
  • Posts: 7474
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM 100 on the network
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2018, 07:52:58 AM »

The readme on GitHub may shed some light on what the WM100 protocol may entail.
Quote
The layer of our source code are seperated as:

 UI, INTERFACE, TYPE, MODEL, ACTION, COMMAND, BASE, OPEN, DB, DB-gen, UTIL, LOG, ESPTOUCH
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.