Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?  (Read 333 times)

pwreimers

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« on: February 13, 2018, 08:15:02 AM »

My brother in law had a ton of Christmas village stuff and nobody else was interested. So I took them to set them up for next year.

Four appliance modules, 61-2681B, and one lamp module, 61-2682B, were in the bag'o parts.

Do I need a controller? Can a pc with appropriate software control them?

I've not heard of X10 home automation before, but it seems pretty practical.

Is there any 120v interference on the home power line?

Thanks in advance,
Pete
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 60
  • Posts: 1697
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 08:26:28 AM »

The ne WM100 may be your best bet. Android and iOS.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 8194
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 08:34:41 AM »

Do I need a controller? Can a pc with appropriate software control them?
yes but you'll also need a pc interface (cm11,cm15,or cm19) as Knightrider stated the WM100 would be your best option
Quote
Is there any 120v interference on the home power line?
There are several things which can place noise on the powerline which can affect operation.
The good news is these can be discovered and filters used to solve the issue
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12439
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2018, 09:50:52 AM »

You may find Jeff's great X10 Troubleshooting Tutorials a help.
http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm

I understand the WM100 has a higher power line signal than some of the other X10 controllers.
If about half the house works and the other does not. A passive X10 coupler or X10 coupler/repeater. Between the two incoming power lines to the house. May possibly be needed.
Logged

pwreimers

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2018, 07:00:17 PM »

It seems like more trouble. I've enough of those right now. Maybe eBay...

Thank you, all!
Pete
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12439
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2018, 11:55:13 PM »

If you want simple control of the modules and not have Wi-Fi or computer controls.
There is the X10 MC10A, X10Pro PMC01. Tabletop unit then you manually control modules.
X10 MT14A, X10Pro XPMT4 Mini Timer that allow preset times and manual control of modules.
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 1325
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2018, 04:55:04 AM »

If you're not interested in implementing something, ebay is a good option.

On the other hand, you can use these modules in a very simple seasonal display for cheap.  The only thing you need is the modules you have and a controller of some kind.  The controller could be a simple mini controller https://www.x10.com/mc10a.html or maybe a timer https://www.x10.com/mt13a.html.  If you want to do it wirelessly, using a transceiver would be an option https://www.x10.com/tm751.html.  If you really wanted to use a computer (not needed or recommended for a simple seasonal display), you could go with one of the ones Tuiceman suggested.  I think the CM15A is a good choice, but higher cost https://www.x10.com/cm15a-module.html.

Since this would be a single location worrying about all the possible noise sources would probably be overkill.  If you have issues (test first to find out, everyone doesn't), you could install a filter https://www.x10.com/xppf-plug-in-filter.html and the X10 components behind it.


So, in the end for what you are doing and considering costs into it, my recommendation would be...SONOFF.  Just go buy a few Sonoff modules and move on.  They are WiFi so they will work with your phone or computer without any other issues and they are super cheap.   >!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 8194
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Radio Shack plug 'n power-what can I do with these?
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2018, 05:01:57 AM »

It seems like more trouble. I've enough of those right now. Maybe eBay...

Thank you, all!
Pete
It sounds like more trouble then it actually is.
As well you may not run into any noise issues at all! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.