Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: CM 15 question  (Read 1139 times)

Mic_

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 137
CM 15 question
« on: February 16, 2018, 12:57:14 PM »

Many folks here seem to like the CM 15; What are the pros to this device? I have used the VA 12 and 11 before that, with AHP. Thanks
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 01:40:08 PM »

The va12 and va11 are video capture devices which are totaly different animals.
The cm15 is not a video capture device it is a  PC interface for controling 10 modules..
It can see and send both plc and RF x10 signalss it also can run independent from a PC once configured
« Last Edit: February 18, 2018, 01:24:24 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6853
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2018, 02:20:59 PM »

This thread looks like a good place for this question. I had noticed the AHP (in product support) download doesn't work on an old laptop I had/have. Whats the deal here? What is it I need to accompany the download from this link:  https://www.x10.com/productsupport/

« Last Edit: February 16, 2018, 02:36:32 PM by HA Dave »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2018, 12:21:16 AM »

This thread looks like a good place for this question. I had noticed the AHP (in product support) download doesn't work on an old laptop I had/have. Whats the deal here? What is it I need to accompany the download from this link:  https://www.x10.com/productsupport/
The download doesn't work? or the installer once downloaded doesn't work?
What version of Windows is on the laptop?
Do you get errors?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6853
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2018, 07:33:10 AM »

.... this link:  https://www.x10.com/productsupport/

The download doesn't work? or the installer once downloaded doesn't work?

Both the DL and the installer worked. The program failed to open.

What version of Windows is on the laptop?

I tried it on a Visa vista and an old XP laptop. Both failed.

Do you get errors?

I don't know what I was thinking. Normally I would capture an image of any error message for accurate research later... but I didn't I do remember though it was a dll.nets(?) issue. 
« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 07:56:12 AM by HA Dave »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2486
    • davehouston.org
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2018, 07:46:02 AM »

I tried it on a Visa
You shoulda tried Mastercard. ;)
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6853
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2018, 07:55:19 AM »

I tried it on a Visa
You shoulda tried Mastercard. ;)

Spellcheck.... makes most of my posts readable.... screws up so very few.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2486
    • davehouston.org
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2018, 08:00:40 AM »

I tried it on a Visa
You shoulda tried Mastercard. ;)

Spellcheck.... makes most of my posts readable.... screws up so very few.

After posting I realized I should have spelled it Masercard.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2018, 08:53:00 AM »

The version of AHP on the support page is a very old version 2.10 which isn't compatible with  the newer SDK and full of bugs. There are no specifics listed in the AHP release history for that version so it may have been an internal build and never released untill Authinx found it.
If I remember correctly 3.228 was the version that updated some dlls and the SDK
This is the link for the newest 3.318 AHP
http://www.authinx.com/software/SW31A/AHP_3.318.exe
 >!
« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 09:08:41 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6853
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2018, 01:11:07 PM »

The version of AHP on the support page is a very old version 2.10 which isn't compatible with  the newer SDK and full of bugs. There are no specifics listed in the AHP release history for that version so it may have been an internal build and never released untill Authinx found it.
If I remember correctly 3.228 was the version that updated some dlls and the SDK
This is the link for the newest 3.318 AHP
http://www.authinx.com/software/SW31A/AHP_3.318.exe
 >!

OMG. That's all it took. I (re)downloaded AHP to my old visa masercard.... er... the laptop before 8, as well as the old XP mini laptop I have someone gave me. I now feel comfortably backed-up. Thanks Tuice.... now we need to get X10 to post that link. I do get  a register screen on the old XP setup.... but it allows me to cancel out... so I think I'm OK.

Thanks again.

« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 02:17:45 PM by HA Dave »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2018, 01:48:34 PM »

I'm  not 100% sure lifejacket will work on XP but it should.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6853
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2018, 02:12:20 PM »

I'm  not 100% sure lifejacket will work on XP but it should.

As long as I can cancel-out and write/load macros.... what else could I want. X10 isn't allowing/running AHP servers are they?
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12695
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2018, 12:09:12 AM »

I'm  not 100% sure lifejacket will work on XP but it should.

Worked for me. On Windows XP SP3.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2018, 12:10:21 AM »

Severs aren't running for MyHouse but the camera plugin , smartMacros and security(onAlert) are still working
Also the unregistered AHP is a bit unstable according to past posts. Although you can run Smartmacros you can't create them with an unregistered AHP
« Last Edit: February 18, 2018, 12:17:33 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1088
Re: CM 15 question
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2018, 12:24:57 AM »

I'm  not 100% sure lifejacket will work on XP but it should.

Worked for me. On Windows XP SP3.

Just tried it on an old XP SP3 machine and it works too. Its fine for local HA control but I wouldn't expose this machine to the Internet.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.