Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: location of users  (Read 608 times)

akeene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 26
location of users
« on: February 19, 2018, 09:54:43 PM »

I would love to read a mesg. and have the location ( state - country ) listed with user. Can I turn this on for all users?
Sometimes it would be helpful to know where these users are located.
I have looked around and just can not find this switch.
thx
Logged
Automation is easy.. " I know"  "RIGHT " Just push a button!
Is this the modern we grew up wishing for?
I still drive my 1953 MG TD.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: location of users
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2018, 11:03:50 PM »

I have not see such a feature here.
Some folks may not want to broadcast their locations to the world.
Though we do get overseas users asking about local modules not real familiar to us.
Logged

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1094
Re: location of users
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2018, 11:41:27 PM »

I have not see such a feature here.
Some folks may not want to broadcast their locations to the world.
Though we do get overseas users asking about local modules not real familiar to us.

Funny thing but you can nearly tell from posting times what part of the world a user hails from. I'm European based and make allowances for differences in module types and power supply voltages and as a result it's CM15a-CM15pro and CM11-CM12 and 110v-220v.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: location of users
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2018, 11:49:59 PM »

Ohio has many.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: location of users
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2018, 12:03:30 AM »

I believe there is a forum mod that will display users locations.
However many users don't enter that info in their profiles.

You can click on the users name and view their profile.
If they have entered their location it will be there. (that doesn't mean it is correct info) ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6856
Re: location of users
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2018, 01:49:40 AM »

Ohio has many.

What part of Europe is Ohio in?
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

akeene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 26
Re: location of users
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2018, 02:05:08 AM »

Just asking. No problem.
Its cold today here in Glendale AZ. 34 right now... should be for a couple days.
When you are used to 110 degrees plus... anything under 65 is bone chilling.
But we do not have shovel sun light, so its all good.
 >! :'

Logged
Automation is easy.. " I know"  "RIGHT " Just push a button!
Is this the modern we grew up wishing for?
I still drive my 1953 MG TD.

akeene

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 26
Re: location of users
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2018, 02:06:04 AM »

BTW it is 7:20 am right now.
Logged
Automation is easy.. " I know"  "RIGHT " Just push a button!
Is this the modern we grew up wishing for?
I still drive my 1953 MG TD.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: location of users
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2018, 02:32:59 AM »

The Forum clock reading. Looks like the GMT clock.
My posts look like GMT. From my local location.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 90
  • Posts: 539
Re: location of users
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2018, 04:12:25 AM »

The Forum clock reading. Looks like the GMT clock.
My posts look like GMT. From my local location.

I don't think it's GMT because Eastern Time is 7 hours AHEAD rather than 5 hours behind.  Also the minutes are slow by 18.  I think the time function for the forum is probably just wrong and not set to look at internet time.  There is a selection in the profile settings that allows you to select the offset and it did detect the correct offset for me automatically.

Right now it's 11:30AM EST
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: location of users
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2018, 04:28:40 AM »

The Forum has been having issues with the time. The Authinx itguy did load a server time keeping program but that doesn't seem to be doing its job. :(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.